National Youth Forum

National Youth Forum

The NAFC Indigenous Youth Council (IYC) acknowledges and respects the Lekwungen, Songhees, Esquimalt peoples, whose traditional territory we will gather for the 32nd National Youth Forum themed: Reconcili-ACTION: Strengthening our Communities, in Victoria, BC.


 

Registration is open! Click here for the latest agenda.

 

32YF2022PosterYouth Forum delegates can now register here.  All delegates/observers must register online. Online registration will be available until July 20, 2022.

The IYC calls on TWO (2) youth voting delegates from member Friendship Centres, ages 14-24, to join our annual event. After months of COVID, this is our first event to meet in-person and IYC wants to know what your concerns and goals are for the IYC!

This year's youth forum will welcome up to 100 youth from Friendship Centres to discuss issues that concern youth, share ideas that matter to you and vote for a new IYC Executive! The goal is to participate (in-person!) in IYC elections, share knowledge, and gain experience of life lessons learned from leaders in culture, leadership, and community engagement. Please see our agenda for more information regarding presentations.

The NAFC is pleased to offer travel subsidies available to delegates and to a few chaperones interested in attending with delegates. These subsidies are for reimbursements for travel ONLY - this includes flight/mileage/ferry costs to a maximum of $860 each. Hotels and meals are not covered. Please contact Francyne Joe for information.

Chaperones are not provided by the IYC nor the NAFC; therefore, an adult should accompany delegates under 18 years attending the Youth Forum and its evening activities. The chaperone may be another delegate who is 18 years of age or older from your Friendship Centre or another – please ensure this is clearly stated on the registration form.

IYCrecruitENOverall, the 2022 Youth Forum hopes to gift youth with knowledge and information to motivate them to follow a path of wellness, awareness, and determination.

In addition to the speakers and presentations, the Youth Forum will have its annual election for the NAFC Indigenous Youth Council. Due to COVID, we were unable to have an election for the President and Treasurer positions last year; therefore, we will be having elections for all four (4) positions:

  • President - 1 year term
  • Vice-President - 2 year term
  • Treasurer - 1 year term
  • Secretary - 2 year term

Youth delegates interested in running for a position must complete the following forms, and if you have any questions, please contact Francyne Joe or Gabrielle Picody:

Elections Documents:

NMen22The IYC would like Friendship Centres to nominate ONE (1) youth from their community to be acknowledged for their outstanding work in the Friendship Centre Movement. This youth should exhibit leadership skills, volunteerism and be a positive role model for Friendship Centre youth. Friendship Centres interested in submitting a nomination form for a youth recipient must complete the below form.

Nelson Mayer Youth Recognition Award Links:

Lastly, as is the tradition of the Youth Forum, the IYC is requesting Friendship Centre Movement donations for the Annual Silent Auction as part of its fundraising. It would be greatly appreciated to help make this event, and future IYC events, a success.

If you have any questions about the IYC Youth Forum, please get in touch with Francyne Joe , Partnerships Manager, or Gabrielle Picody.

This event is co-hosted by the NAFC, its Indigenous Youth Council, with the support from the Victoria Native Friendship Centre, the BC Association of Aboriginal Friendship Centres and its Provincial Aboriginal Youth Council. We kindly thank them all for their generous hospitality!

 

Youth Forum Host Hotel

For a special rate on our Youth Forum Host Hotel, please login to the 2022 Annual Meeting page on the Members' Portal, or send an email to melmaracle@nafc.ca for the discount link! The cut-off date for guestroom reservations is June 30, 2022,  or until the reservation block is sold out - whichever comes first.

Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
& Suites Victoria
777 Douglas Street
Victoria, BC, V8W 2B5
Tel: 250.940.3131


 

Updated: Juily 11, 2022

Forum national des jeunes


National Youth Forum

Le Conseil des jeunes autochtones de l'ANCA reconnaît et respecte les peuples Lekwungen, Songhees et Esquimalt, dont le territoire traditionnel nous réunira pour le 32e Forum national des jeunes, ayant pour thème Réconciliation-ACTION : Renforcement de nos communautés, à Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique.


 

Les inscriptions sont ouvertes !

 

32YF2022FRLes délégués du Forum des jeunes peuvent maintenant s'inscrire ici.  Tous les délégués/observateurs doivent s'inscrire en ligne. L'inscription en ligne sera disponible jusqu'au 20 juillet 2022.

Le CJA invite DEUX (2) jeunes délégués votants de chaque Centre d'amitié membre, âgés de 14 à 24 ans, à participer à notre événement annuel. Après des mois de COVID-19, c'est le premier événement où nous pourrons nous voir en personne et le CJA veut connaître vos préoccupations et vos objectifs pour le CJA!

Le Forum de la jeunesse de cette année accueillera jusqu'à 100 jeunes des Centres d'amitié (CA) pour discuter de questions qui concernent les jeunes, partager des idées qui comptent pour vous et élire pour un nouveau Conseil des jeunes autochtones (CJA)! L'objectif est de participer (en personne!) aux élections du CJA, de partager des connaissances et d'acquérir de l’expérience sur les leçons de vie apprises auprès de leaders en culture, en leadership et en engagement communautaire. Veuillez consulter notre ordre du jour pour obtenir plus de renseignements concernant les présentations.

L'ANCA a le plaisir d'offrir des allocations de voyage aux délégués et à quelques accompagnateurs souhaitant y assister avec eux. Ces allocations sont destinées au remboursement des frais de voyage UNIQUEMENT, ce qui comprend les frais de vol, de kilométrage et de traversier, jusqu'à un maximum de 860 $ par personne. Les hôtels et les repas ne sont pas couverts. Veuillez communiquer avec Francyne Joe pour vous informer.

Les accompagnateurs ne sont pas fournis par le CJA ni par l'ANCA; par conséquent, un adulte doit accompagner les délégués de moins de 18 ans qui participent au Forum de la jeunesse et aux activités en soirée. L'accompagnateur peut être un autre délégué âgé de 18 ans ou plus de votre Centre d'amitié ou d'un autre – veuillez vous assurer que cette information est clairement indiquée sur le formulaire d'inscription.

Dans l'ensemble, le Forum de la jeunesse 2022 espère offrir aux jeunes des connaissances et des informations qui les motiveront à suivre la voie du bien-être, de la sensibilisation et de la détermination.

IYCrecruitFREn plus des orateurs et des présentations, le Forum de la jeunesse tiendra ses élections annuelles pour le Conseil des jeunes autochtones de l'ANCA. En raison de la pandémie de COVID-19, il n’a pas été possible de les organiser pour les postes de président et de trésorier l'année dernière. Par conséquent, les quatre (4) postes suivants sont à combler cette année :

  • Président, mandat de 1 an
  • Vice-président, mandat de 2 ans
  • Trésorier, mandat de 1 an
  • Secrétaire, mandat de 2 ans

Les jeunes délégués souhaitant se présenter à un poste doivent remplir les formulaires qui suivent :

  • Lettre d'intention indiquant le ou les postes pour lesquels ils se présentent
  • Lettre de soutien du Centre d'amitié local ou de l'association provinciale/territoriale
  • Lettre de créance du Forum de la jeunesse

Pour toute question, veuillez communiquer avec Francyne Joe ou Gabrielle Picody.

NMfr22Le CJA souhaite que les Centres d'amitié désignent UN (1) jeune de leur communauté qui sera reconnu pour son travail exceptionnel au sein du Mouvement des centres d'amitié. Ce jeune doit faire preuve de leadership, de bénévolat et être un modèle positif pour les jeunes fréquentant les Centres d'amitié. Les Centres d'amitié désirant soumettre un formulaire de nomination pour un jeune lauréat doivent remplir le formulaire suivant :

  • Prix de reconnaissance des jeunes Nelson Mayer – Renseignements généraux
  • Formulaire de nomination pour le Prix de reconnaissance des jeunes Nelson Mayer

Enfin, comme le veut la tradition du Forum des jeunes, le CJA sollicite les dons du Mouvement des centres d'amitié pour la vente aux enchères annuelle silencieuse dans le cadre de sa collecte de fonds. Nous vous serions très reconnaissants de contribuer à la réussite de cet événement et des futurs événements du CJA.

Si vous avez des questions sur le Forum des jeunes, veuillez communiquer avec Francyne Joe  responsable des partenariats, ou Gabrielle Picody.

Cet événement est organisé conjointement par l'ANCA et son Conseil de la jeunesse autochtone, avec le soutien du Victoria Native Friendship Centre, de la BC Association of Aboriginal Friendship Centres et de son Conseil des jeunes autochtones provincial. Nous les remercions tous chaleureusement pour leur généreuse hospitalité !

 

Hôtel hôte du Forum des jeunes

Pour bénéficier d'un tarif spécial sur notre hôtel hôte du Forum des jeunes, veuillez vous connecter à la page de la réunion annuelle 2022 sur le portail des membres, ou envoyez un courriel à melmaracle@nafc.ca pour obtenir le lien de réduction ! La date limite de réservation des chambres est fixée au 30 juin 2022, ou jusqu'à épuisement du bloc de réservation - selon la première éventualité.

Doubletree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
777, rue Douglas
Victoria, BC, V8W 2B5
Tél. : 250.940.3131

 

Forfait Forum des jeunes


 

Mise a jour : 10 juin, 2022