Student Supports Learning Program (SSLP)

 

Program Background

Due to the global pandemic, there was an urgent need for increased connectivity as schooling transitioned to online learning. Through the SSLP funding, Friendship Centres across Canada were able to purchase laptops, increase capacity and better facilitate online learning and completion of homework. 

Program Overview

The Government of Canada recently provided an additional $10.75 million in funding to support the Student Supports Learning Program (SSLP), a program serving vulnerable Indigenous children and youth across Canada. This funding is in addition to the three million previously provided to NAFC during the 2020-21 fiscal year. NAFC is administering the $10.75 million in funding to over 93 local Friendship Centres and six Provincial/Territorial Associations (PTA) to serve youth through their programming.

The SSLP aims to support equitable access to technology and learning supports through:

  • Supporting Indigenous youth to continue their studies both academically and traditionally;
  • Providing access to technology and learning supports; and
  • Enabling the building of relationships between Indigenous youth, community members, mentors, tutors, and Elders.

 

Success Stories

 TOPFC-jigging-class

 The Tree of Peace Friendship Centre, Yellowknife NT

“The Tree of Peace's jigging classes were lots of fun for participants and were a wonderful opportunity to connect with others with their culture and to remain active during these challenging times of COVID-19”

 

Resources for PTA's and FC's

Click here for a one-pager overview of SSLP

The NAFC SSLP Final Report 2020-21 can be found here

If your Friendship Centre has received funding for this program, please review our one-pager on the NAFC reporting requirements here.

 

Contact Information

Natalie Cahill (she/her)

Project Coordinator

E-mail: ncahill@nafc.ca

Student Supports Learning Program (SSLP)

 

Contexte du programme

En raison de la pandémie mondiale, il était urgent d’accroître la connectivité, l’enseignement passant à l’apprentissage en ligne. Grâce au financement du PSAE, les Centres d’amitié de tout le Canada ont pu acheter des ordinateurs portables, augmenter leur capacité et mieux organiser l’apprentissage en ligne et la réalisation des devoirs.

Aperçu du programme

Le gouvernement du Canada a récemment accordé un financement supplémentaire de 10,75 millions de dollars au Programme de soutien à l’apprentissage des étudiants (PSAE), un programme destiné aux enfants et aux jeunes autochtones vulnérables de tout le Canada. Ce financement s’ajoute aux trois millions précédemment accordés à l’ANCA au cours de l’exercice 2020-2021. L’ANCA administre le financement de 10,75 millions de dollars accordé à plus de 93 Centres d’amitié locaux et à 6 associations provinciales/territoriales (APT) afin d’aider les jeunes dans le cadre de leurs programmes.

Le PSAE vise à soutenir l’accès équitable à la technologie et aux aides à l’apprentissage par les moyens suivants :

  • S’assurer que les jeunes autochtones poursuivent leurs études, tant sur le plan scolaire que sur le plan traditionnel.
  • Fournir un accès à la technologie et aux ressources d’apprentissage.
  • Permettre l’établissement de liens entre les jeunes autochtones, les membres de la communauté, les mentors, les tuteurs et les Aînés.

 

Réussites

 TOPFC-jigging-class

The Tree of Peace Friendship Centre, Yellowknife (T.N.-O.)

« Les cours de gigue de The Tree of Peace ont été très amusants pour les participants et ont fourni une merveilleuse occasion de tisser des liens avec d’autres personnes et d’autres cultures, et de continuer à bouger pendant cette période difficile qu’est la pandémie de COVID-19. »

 

Ressources pour les APT et les Centres d’amitié

Cliquez ici pour obtenir un aperçu du PSAE en une page.

Le rapport final 2020-2021 de l’ANCA sur le PSAE est disponible ici.

Si votre Centre d’amitié a reçu des fonds pour ce programme, veuillez consulter la fiche d’information sur les exigences en matière de rapports de l’ANCA ici.

 

Coordonnées

Natalie Cahill (elle)

Coordonnatrice de projet

E-mail: ncahill@nafc.ca