Request for Proposals: Friendship Centre Program Evaluation

Request for Proposals

Friendship Centre Program Evaluation

 

  1. Organization Background

The National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC) consists of 112 member Friendship Centres and Provincial and Territorial Associations. The NAFC is a long-standing Indigenous civil society network and not for profit organization with reach across Canada, supporting member Friendship Centres who provide culturally-relevant programs and services to First Nations, Inuit and Métis people living in urban, rural and northern communities. Friendship Centres are identity-inclusive and provide services to clients regardless of their ancestry or place of residence.

Established in 1972, the NAFC’s mission of the NAFC is to support Friendship Centres and Provincial/Territorial Associations in achieving their diverse missions and visions within their urban Indigenous communities. See the NAFC website for more information at www.nafc.ca

  1. Project Summary

The NAFC requires the services of an evaluation firm or consultant, preferably Indigenous-owned or with Indigenous employees in key positions, to work with existing Friendship Centre structures to develop and implement an evaluation of the NAFC’s component of Urban Programming for Indigenous Peoples (UPIP) program.

The evaluation will require the collection of both qualitative and quantitative data from a variety of sources using methods that include but are not limited to, existing program data, key informant interviews, focus groups, surveys, testimonials, and community engagement strategies.

  1. The Urban Programming for Indigenous Peoples (UPIP)

The overall objective of UPIP is to fund and support activities that will allow urban Indigenous organizations to serve clients, and to deliver effective culturally appropriate programs/services to urban Indigenous peoples as well as invest in local stakeholder coalitions across Canada. It will also provide opportunities for greater federal coordination of programming and support research and pilot projects to better understand the urban Indigenous context. The Program was launched in the spring of 2017 and offers four streams of funding: 1) organizational capacity; 2) programs and services; 3) coalition tables; and 4) research and innovation.

The NAFC administers Friendship Centre specific organizational capacity (OC) and program and services (PS) components of the UPIP through its network of Provincial Territorial Associations (PTAs). The NAFC also administers the program directly to Friendship Centres not affiliated with a PTA. More details including the UPIP terms and conditions can be found at this link:

https://www.aadnc-aandc.gc.ca/eng/1386530682712/1386530771640?=undefined&wbdisable=true

  1. Project Requirements

The successful candidate will draw upon internal expertise, collective knowledge, and the literature to identify common standardized indicators that would be meaningful from both regional and local contexts.

4.1         Evaluation Components

The evaluation will include several components that utilize a variety of qualitative and quantitative methodologies. The process component will evaluate the way the UPIP Program was delivered. The iterative component will include the annual reporting and identification of wise practices, and challenges and recommendations on how to address those challenges. The formative component will examine the development of the Program. The final component is the summative, which will result in the final report.

4.1.1     Quantitative Component

The NAFC collects a variety of program-related data as part of the existing reporting process and this data can be used as the main information source for quantifying the Program’s successes at the local level. In addition to capturing the “State of the Movement” in any given year it provides an opportunity to measure increases and decreases in program participation over time. Using existing Program data also reduces the cost of carrying out an evaluation as this work can be done by existing NAFC Program staff.

4.1.2     Qualitative Component

The inclusion of qualitative data in the evaluation is key to ensuring that program successes and challenges are appropriately contextualized. Qualitative data provides an opportunity to better understand program impacts, it provides opportunities to identify and address program challenges and adopt quality assurance measures, and it ensures community participation in the evaluation process.

Supporting documentation in NAFC’s possession will be provided to the successful firm/consultant. The firm/consultant may need to do independent research for additional documentation.

  1. Description of Project Deliverables

The deliverables include:

  • An evaluation work plan, with a timeline and budget, that is developed in partnership with NAFC and identified FCM experts, consistent with Indigenous ways of knowing and doing, utilizes methodologies that incorporate capacity building and support, and is flexible to ensure compatibility with the varying levels of capacity that exist across Friendship Centres and PTAs;
  • An evaluation framework that includes goals and objectives, and identifies the relationships between factors key to the Program’s implementation as well as the and internal and external elements that may potentially affect the Program’s success;
  • A participatory approach to identify qualitative and quantitative indicators for each party involved in the rollout and delivery of the Program to community (i.e., Friendship Centres, PTAs, youth, NAFC, and the Funding Agency);
  • A methodology / process for joint analysis and interpretation of the data;
  • Communications plan (recruitment, dissemination, etc.);
  • Ethical protocols (i.e., informed consent, confidentiality considerations, data ownership, etc.);
  • Reporting guide for Centres, PTAs, and NAFC;
  • Key informant interview schedule, questionnaires, data analysis methods;
  • Formative evaluation report; and
  • Summative evaluation report.

 

  1. Contractor Experience/Qualifications

Applicants will demonstrate an in-depth knowledge of:

  • The unique and diverse issues concerning urban Indigenous populations, communities, and organizations, including, but not limited to, the ongoing impacts of colonization and those related to sex, gender, age, identity, and geographic location;
  • The importance of research ethics and culturally safe approaches to working with Indigenous communities and peoples.

In addition, applicants will describe their:

  • Awareness of and experience with Indigenous approaches to evaluation;
  • Demonstrated experience working with Indigenous communities in program evaluation.

Experience working with the Friendship Centre Movement will be considered an asset. Ability to communicate in written and spoken French will be considered an asset.

  1. Contract Parameters

7.1        Value

Applicants will provide a quote for work as described, inclusive of all taxes and fees, but exclusive of any travel that may be required. The NAFC assumes no responsibility for third party relationships entered into by the successful firm/consultant. The NAFC reserves the right to choose the applicant that will best serve the needs of the organization, which may not be the applicant with the lowest quote.

7.2        Duration

The contract will be in effect for a period of no more than 18 months.

7.3        Workplace

The contractor will be required to work from their usual place of work and provide their own work equipment and workplace infrastructure to complete the work required under this project, including office, computer/laptop, phone/cell phone/fax machine, printer, internet access, and all other materials required to complete this project

7.4        Intellectual Property

All information, documents or resource materials developed as part of this contract and work related to this project will remain the intellectual property of the NAFC.

7.5         Responsibilities

The NAFC will provide all background and other materials and information to the Contractor to support the completion of the project deliverables.

The Contractor will provide updates on progress on the project as deliverables are completed and as requested by the NAFC.

7.6.       Contractor Requirements

The Contractor will be required to meet all the project activities and deliverables described in this RFP to the satisfaction of the NAFC.

The Contractor will be required to take direction and feedback from the NAFC as provided to complete the project deliverables.

7.7        Payment Terms

Payment will be made by the NAFC on a monthly basis upon receipt of an invoice from the Contractor.

  1. Requirements for responding to this RFP

Individuals/firms interested in responding to this RFP are required to provide the following to the NAFC:

  • Comprehensive proposal with quote, methodology, general proposed approach and timeline;
  • Candidates will highlight how their experiences and qualifications meet the needs of this Call fo Proposals;
  • Any ethical considerations in their proposals as well as potential risks and how they will mitigate those risks;
  • Short biographies on any proposed team members, including whether any are able to write or speak French;
  • List of 3 references for previous work completed;
  • Examples of previous work with the Friendship Centre Movement, if any.
  1. Closing Date/Time:

The closing date for this RFP is July 15, 2019. Proposals will be received by 5:00 p.m. (Eastern Standard Time) and be addressed to the attention of:

Jennifer Rankin

NAFC Program Manager

275 MacLaren Street

Ottawa, ON  K2P 0L9

 

Submissions can be provided in hard copy to the above noted address, or in electronic format by e-mail to jrankin@nafc.ca. The NAFC bears no responsibility for misdirected or misaddressed proposals or for proposals that may be incomplete on receipt and review. Questions may be directed in writing by e-mail to: Jennifer Rankin at jrankin@nafc.ca.

 

Request for Proposals: UPIP Evaluation PDF

Recent Posts

Ongoing Initiatives

Demande de propositions Évaluation du programme des centres d’amitié

Demande de propositions : Évaluation du programme des centres d’amitié

1. Renseignements sur l’organisme

L’Association nationale des centres d’amitié (ANCA) est un réseau de 112 centres d’amitié et Associations provinciales/territoriales. L’ANCA est un organisme autochtone établi depuis longtemps, et dont les services sont déployés d’un océan à l’autre au Canada pour soutenir les centres qui fournissent des programmes et des services adaptés sur le plan culturel, aux Premières Nations, Inuit et Métis vivant dans des communautés urbaines, rurales et nordiques. Les centres d’amitié sont inclusifs sur le plan de l’identité et offrent des services aux clients, peu importe leur ascendance ou leur lieu de résidence.

La mission de l’ANCA consiste à aider les centres d’amitié et les associations provinciales ou territoriales à réaliser leurs différentes missions et visions dans les collectivités autochtones. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez le site Web à www.nafc.ca

2. Résumé du projet

L’ANCA a besoin des services d’une firme d’évaluation ou d’un expert-conseil, de préférence autochtone, ou ayant à son service des employés autochtones occupant des postes clés, pour travailler avec les structures des centres d’amitié en place à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre d’une évaluation de la composante de l’ANCA du Programme urbain pour les peuples autochtones (PUPA).

L’évaluation nécessitera la collecte de données qualitatives et quantitatives provenant de diverses sources à l’aide de méthodes qui comprennent notamment des données sur les programmes, les entrevues avec des informateurs clés, les groupes de discussion, les sondages, les témoignages et les stratégies d’engagement communautaire.

3. Programmes urbains pour les peuples autochtones (PUPA)

L’objectif global de PUPA est de financer et appuyer des activités qui permettront aux organisations autochtones de servir des clients, et d’offrir des programmes et des services efficaces et pertinents sur le plan culturel aux Autochtones en milieu urbain en plus d’investir dans des coalitions d’intervenants locaux partout au Canada. Ils donneront également des occasions pour améliorer la coordination fédérale des programmes et appuyer les projets de recherche et les projets pilotes afin de mieux comprendre le contexte urbain autochtone. Le programme a été lancé au printemps 2017 et offre quatre volets de financement : 1) la capacité organisationnelle; 2) les programmes et les services; 3) les tables de coalition; et 4) la recherche et l’innovation.

L’ANCA administre les capacités organisationnelles propres aux centres d’amitié (OC) et les composantes des programmes et services (SP) du PUPA par l’entremise de son réseau d’associations provinciales et territoriales (APT).  L’ANCA administre également le programme directement aux centres d’amitié qui ne sont pas affiliés à un ATP. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, y compris les modalités du PUPA, cliquez sur le lien suivant :

https://www.aadnc-aandc.gc.ca/fra/1386530682712/1386530771640?=undefined&wbdisable=true

4. Exigences du projet

Le candidat retenu s’appuiera sur l’expertise interne, le savoir collectif et la documentation pour déterminer des indicateurs normalisés communs qui seraient utiles dans les contextes régional et local.

4.1 Composantes de l’évaluation

L’évaluation comprendra plusieurs composantes qui font appel à diverses méthodes qualitatives et quantitatives. La composante du processus évaluera la façon dont le Programme des PUPA a été exécuté. La composante itérative comprendra le rapport annuel et la détermination des pratiques judicieuses, ainsi que des défis et des recommandations sur la façon de relever ces défis. Le volet formatif portera sur l’élaboration du Programme. La dernière composante est la sommation, qui aboutira au rapport final.

4.1.1 Composante quantitative

L’ANCA recueille diverses données liées au programme dans le cadre du processus de production de rapports, et ces données peuvent être utilisées comme principale source d’information pour quantifier les réussites du programme à l’échelle locale. En plus de saisir l’état du mouvement au cours d’une année donnée, il permet de mesurer les augmentations et les diminutions de la participation aux programmes au fil du temps. L’utilisation des données du programme permet également de réduire le coût de la réalisation d’une évaluation, car ce travail peut être effectué par le personnel du programme de l’ANCA en place.

4.1.2 Composante qualitative

L’inclusion de données qualitatives dans l’évaluation est essentielle pour s’assurer que les réussites et les défis du programme sont bien contextualisés. Les données qualitatives offrent l’occasion de mieux comprendre les répercussions du programme, de cerner et de relever les défis du programme, d’adopter des mesures d’assurance de la qualité et d’assurer la participation de la collectivité au processus d’évaluation.

Les documents justificatifs en possession de l’ANCA seront fournis à l’entreprise ou à l’expert-conseil retenu. Il se peut que l’entreprise ou l’expert-conseil doive effectuer des recherches indépendantes pour obtenir des documents supplémentaires.

5. Description des livrables du projet

Les produits livrables comprennent :

  • un plan de travail de l’évaluation, accompagné d’un échéancier et d’un budget, qui est élaboré en partenariat avec l’ANCA et les experts désignés de la FCM, conformément aux façons de faire des Autochtones, utilise des méthodologies qui intègrent le renforcement des capacités et le soutien, et qui assurent la compatibilité avec les divers niveaux de capacité actuels dans les centres d’amitié et les APT;
  • un cadre d’évaluation qui comprend des buts et des objectifs et qui détermine les relations entre les facteurs clés de la mise en œuvre du programme ainsi que les éléments internes et externes qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur la réussite du programme;
  • une approche participative pour déterminer des indicateurs qualitatifs et quantitatifs pour chaque partie participant à la mise en œuvre et à la prestation du Programme auprès des collectivités (c.-à-d. les centres d’amitié, les associations provinciales et territoriales, les jeunes, l’ANCA et l’organisme de financement);
  • une méthode ou un processus d’analyse et d’interprétation conjointes des données;
  • un plan de communication (recrutement, diffusion, etc.);
  • les protocoles éthiques (c.-à-d. consentement éclairé, questions de confidentialité, propriété des données, etc.);
  • un guide de production de rapports à l’intention des centres, des APT et de l’ANCA;
  • un calendrier des entrevues avec les principaux intervenants, des questionnaires, des méthodes d’analyse des données;
  • un rapport d’évaluation formative;
  • un apport d’évaluation sommative.

6. Expérience et qualifications de l’entrepreneur

Les candidats doivent démontrer une connaissance approfondie des éléments suivants :

  • les enjeux uniques et diversifiés concernant les populations, les collectivités et les organismes autochtones en milieu urbain, notamment les répercussions continues de la colonisation et celles liées au sexe, à l’âge, à l’identité et à l’emplacement géographique;
  • l’importance de l’éthique de la recherche et des approches adaptées aux cultures pour travailler avec les communautés et les peuples autochtones.

Les demandeurs devront aussi décrire :

  • leurs connaissances et expériences des approches autochtones en matière d’évaluation;
  • une expérience confirmée de travail auprès de communautés autochtones en matière d’évaluation de programmes.

Une expérience de travail auprès du Mouvement des Centres d’amitié sera considérée comme un atout. La capacité de communiquer à l’écrit et à l’oral en français sera considérée comme un atout.

7. Paramètres du contrat

7.1 Valeur

Les candidats doivent présenter une soumission pour le travail décrit, qui comprend toutes les taxes et tous les frais, mais exclue tous déplacements nécessaires. L’ANCA se dégage de toutes responsabilités quant aux relations avec des tiers établies par l’entreprise ou l’expert-conseil retenu. L’ANCA se réserve le droit de retenir le candidat qui répondra le mieux aux besoins de l’organisme, qui n’est pas nécessairement le plus bas soumissionnaire.

7.2 Durée du contrat

Le contrat sera en vigueur pour une période maximale de 18 mois.

7.3 Lieu de travail

L’entrepreneur devra travailler à partir de son lieu de travail habituel et fournir son propre équipement et infrastructure de travail pour effectuer le travail requis dans le cadre de ce projet, y compris un bureau, un ordinateur, un ordinateur portable, un téléphone sans fil, un téléphone cellulaire, un télécopieur, une imprimante, un accès à Internet et tout autre matériel nécessaire à la réalisation de ce projet.

7.4 Propriété intellectuelle

Tous les renseignements, documents et ressources documentaires élaborés dans le cadre de ce contrat et du travail en lien avec ce projet demeureront la propriété intellectuelle de l’ANCA.

7.5 Responsabilités

L’ANCA fournira à l’entrepreneur tout le matériel de base, ainsi que tout autre matériel et information nécessaire pour réaliser les résultats viser du projet.

L’entrepreneur fournira des mises à jour sur l’état d’avancement du projet au fur et à mesure que les livrables sont complétés et à la demande de l’ANCA.

7.6 Obligations de l’entrepreneur

L’entrepreneur devra mener à terme toutes les activités et tous les livrables du projet tels qu’ils sont décrits dans cette demande de propositions (DP) et à la satisfaction de l’ANCA.

L’entrepreneur devra  tenir compte de la direction et des commentaires fournis par l’ANCA pour mener à terme les livrables du projet.

7.7 Modalités de paiement

Les paiements seront effectués par l’ANCA par versements mensuels à la réception d’une facture de l’entrepreneur.

8. Exigences relatives à une soumission pour cette demande de proposition

Les personnes ou les firmes intéressées à offrir leurs services pour cette DP doivent fournir à l’ANCA ce qui suit :

  • une proposition complète comprenant le prix, la méthodologie, l’approche générale et l’échéancier proposés.
  • Les candidats doivent expliquer comment leur expérience et leurs qualifications répondent aux besoins de cette demande de propositions.
  • toutes questions éthiques dans leurs propositions, ainsi que les risques potentiels à ce sujet et la façon dont ils atténueront ces risques;
  • de courtes biographies de tous les membres de l’équipe proposés, et la mention s’ils sont capables d’écrire ou de parler français;
  • une liste de trois références pour des travaux réalisés antérieurement;
  • des exemples de travaux antérieurs avec le Mouvement des centres d’amitié, s’il y a lieu.

9. Date et heure limites de réception des soumissions

Les soumissions pour cette DP doivent être reçues au plus tard le lundi 15 juillet 2019. Les propositions doivent être reçues au plus tard à 17 h (heure normale de l’Est), et transmises à l’attention de :

Jennifer Rankin
Gestionnaire de programmes de l’ANCA
275, rue MacLaren
Ottawa (Ontario) K2P 0L9

Les soumissions peuvent être envoyées en format papier à l’adresse indiquée ci-dessus, ou par courriel (à Jennifer Rankin), à jrankin@nafc.ca. L’ANCA se dégage de toute responsabilité pour des propositions mal dirigées ou mal adressées, ou pour des propositions qui pourraient être incomplètes lors de leur réception et examen. Les questions se rapportant à la présente DP peuvent être acheminées par courriel à jrankin@nafc.ca.

Initiatives en Cours