NAFC Request for Proposals – Data Systems Review

Organization Background
The National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC) consists of 125 Friendship Centres and Provincial and Territorial Associations who together make up the Friendship Centre Movement. The Movement is composed of independent democratically elected governance structures which ensures that each Provincial Territorial Association (PTA) and Friendship Centre remains autonomous and that the Movement retains its fundamental grassroots origins. Each of these structures feed into the NAFC governance structure which has been delegated authority to make decisions on behalf of the Movement at the national level.

The NAFC is a long-standing Indigenous organization with reach across Canada, from coast to coast to coast, supporting Centres who provide culturally enhanced programs and services to First Nations, Inuit and Métis people living in urban, rural and northern communities. Established in 1972, the NAFC represents the interests of its Friendship Centres and Provincial Territorial Associations (PTAs). Its mission is to improve the quality of life for Indigenous peoples in an urban environment by supporting self-determined activities which encourage equal access to, and participation in, Canadian Society; and which respect and strengthen increased emphasis on Indigenous cultural distinctiveness.

Project Summary
The NAFC requires a Contractor or Contracting Firm to assist in a Data Systems Review as it relates to the collection of client data served through The Friendship Centre Movement (FCM). The proposed work will require the Contractor to work collaboratively with the NAFC, PTA & FC management and staff to develop a report consistent with the FCM’s Centre-focused approach while respecting traditional Indigenous customs and beliefs.

Project Objectives and Scope
The objective of this proposed work is to help inform the Federal Government on the potential for improvements to data collection methods and systems within the Friendship Centre Network of offices to ensure optimal collection of client data as it pertains to labour market interventions and associated wrap-around supports. This will require a review of present-day data collection systems in place with recommendations for refinement and/or suggested improvements. Special attention and consideration will be afforded to proposals emanating from, or in collaboration with, those Friendship Centres that have been active participants in the labour market file via the NAFC Labour Market Advisory Committee (LMAC). The time and geographic scope will include all available Friendship Centre-related information available at the NAFC about locations across Canada. The final report will be prepared in English for submission to the Federal Government.

The following activities will be performed by the Contractor:
a)Develop detailed work plan;
b)Review existing Friendship Centre-related materials, provide strategic guidance and work with NAFC staff to develop an outline identifying any additional contextual research or materials that may be required to inform the report;
c)Working with NAFC staff, conduct any additional research as identified;
d)Working with NAFC staff, compile findings and develop report, including (but not limited to):
i)overview of present-day national Friendship Centre network as it relates to employment, training, labour market information and associated recording, measurement, analysis and reporting.
ii)inclusion of any pertinent findings and recommendations from related reports pertaining to this current RFP and its implications for data collection, coordination and standardization.
iii) detailed review of current data collection methods utilized within the FCM.
iv) highlight and analyse best practices within the FCM re: data collection on clients related to labour market interventions and outcomes including but not limited to:
(1) Type of data collected; i.e.: career/employment counselling; skills training, etc
(2) The recording of wraparound services and their connection with labour market outcomes for FC clients;
(3) Connection with other stakeholders including employers, non-FC community partners, etc.
(4) Compare, contrast, and identify the advantages/disadvantages of adopting or adapting any of the data collection systems currently in use within the movement to be utilized nationally across the FC network.
v) provide recommendations regarding scalability of optimal data collection systems; model expansion opportunities, including feasibility, implementation and implications analysis
vi) local, regional, provincial and national consideration;
vii) any other sections that may be required or identified to effectively inform the Federal Government;
e) Provide strategic expert guidance on an as-needed or as-identifed basis over the course of the project.

4) Description of Project Deliverables
The deliverables include:
a)Detailed work plan
b) Data Systems Review Report outline
c) Data Systems Review Draft Report
d) Data Systems Review Final Report
e) A Presentation of Findings & Recommendations

5. Contractor Experience/Qualifications
a) Applicants must demonstrate detailed knowledge of Indigenous employment and training program delivery, management, and evaluation, and technical knowledge of client data management systems within the FC network. This would be scored based on current relevant work experience within or in conjunction with PTAs and/or FCs within the movement. Technical knowledge around database development, design, and expansion capabilities is essential (50 points);
b) Applicants must have experience working with or within the FC network of offices in relation to data measurement and have experience in conducting, compiling and displaying research findings via written reports and electronic presentations (40 points);
c) Applicants must have demonstrated experience and/or knowledge of Indigenous Culture and Traditions (5 points);
d) Bilingualism will be considered an asset (5 points).

6.  Bid Selection
a) Selection method
i)The successful bidder will be chosen based on the highest score of the above rated Contractor Experience/Qualifications, within the additional scope of:
ii) Evidence of understanding of project objectives, deliverables and approach and methodology, including provision of initial work plan (key activities and timelines);
iii) Evidence of previous work, including examples that demonstrate previous experience or expertise conducting work related to this RFP topic and scope;
iv) Evidence of 2 to 3 years’ experience within the last 7 years conducting national research within an Indigenous setting.

7. Contract Parameters
a) Value
The contract maximum value is for not more than $24,000inclusive of all applicable taxes. Proposals coming in above this maximum limit will not be considered for this process. The NAFC assumes no responsibility for sub-contractors that may arise out of this contract.
b) Duration
The contract will be in effect from December 17, 2018 to March 31, 2019.
c) Workplace
The Contractor will be required to work from their usual place of work and provide their own work equipment and workplace infrastructure to complete the work required under this project, including office, computer/laptop, phone/cell phone/fax machine, printer, internet access, and all other materials required to complete this project. The Contractor will liaise with the NAFC via regular and as-needed teleconference and web meetings. Pending availability, there may be one in-person meeting in Ottawa at some point throughout the project, depending on timelines. Should Contractor travel be required over the course of this project, associated costs and arrangements will be coordinated and covered directly by the NAFC separate from the value of this contract and must first be discussed with and approved by the NAFC. Valid Contractor travel expenses that the NAFC would book and cover directly upfront include flights, meals, per diems and hotels at Treasury Board rates. Valid Contractor travel expenses that the NAFC would reimburse after travel, with receipts as appropriate, include ground transportation, mileage, airport parking and taxis at Treasury Board rates.
d) Intellectual Property
All information, documents or resource materials developed as part of this contract and work related to this project will remain the intellectual property of the NAFC.
e) NAFC’s Responsibilities
The NAFC will provide as necessary, all background and other materials and information to the Contractor required to complete the project deliverables.
The NAFC will provide staff support to the Contractor throughout all stages of this contract and project and work closely with the Contractor to identify additional contextual research requirements, assist in conducting any additional required research, and provide direction as needed around objectives, outlines and the report.
The Contractor will provide updates on the progress of the project as deliverables are completed and as requested by the NAFC.
f) Contractor Requirements
The Contractor will be required to meet all the project activities and deliverables described in this RFP to the satisfaction of the NAFC.
The Contractor will be required to take direction and feedback from the NAFC as provided to complete the project deliverables.
g) Payment Terms
Payment will be made by the NAFC upon successful completion of each project deliverable and receipt of an invoice from the Contractor.

8. Requirements for responding to this RFP
Individuals/firms interested in responding to this RFP are required to provide the following to the NAFC
a) A proposal outlining the work the contractor foresees in successfully completing the objectives, activities and deliverables of this project.
b) Initial workplan, including an estimate of time requirements for each activity stated in days, as well as an estimate of the steps (sub-activities) required to successfully accomplish each activity;
c) Resume(s)
d) Two samples/examples of contract/project work of a similar nature, including a reference name and contact information for reference for each.

9.Closing Date/Time:
The closing date for this RFP is December 14, 2018.
Proposals must be received by 5:00 p.m. (Eastern Time)
and be addressed to the attention of:

Jocelyn Formsma
Executive Director
National Association of Friendship Centres
275 MacLaren St.
Ottawa, Ontario
K2P 0L9

Submissions can be provided in hard copy to the above noted address, or in electronic format by e-mail to jwformsma@nafc.ca.
The NAFC bears no responsibility for misdirected or misaddressed proposals or for proposals that may be incomplete on receipt and review.
Questions pertaining to this RFP may be directed in writing by e-mail to: jwformsma@nafc.ca

PDF: RFP – NAFC Data Systems Review – Final

Recent Posts

Ongoing Initiatives

ANCA – Demande de propositions Examen des systèmes de données

ANCA – Demande de propositions

Examen des systèmes de données

 

  • Contexte de l’organisme

L’Association nationale des centres d’amitié (ANCA) est un réseau de 125 Centres d’amitié et Associations provinciales/territoriales qui, ensemble, constituent le Mouvement des Centres d’amitié. Le Mouvement est constitué de structures de gouvernance indépendantes, ce qui assure l’autonomie de chaque Association provinciale/territoriale (APT) et Centre d’amitié (CA), et que le Mouvement conserve ses origines populaires fondamentales. Chacune de ces structures participe à la structure de gouvernance de l’ANCA, qui s’est vu conférer le pouvoir décisionnel pour le compte du Mouvement au niveau national.

 

L’ANCA est un organisme autochtone établi depuis longue date, et dont les services sont déployés d’un océan à l’autre au Canada, pour soutenir les Centres qui fournissent des programmes et des services adaptés sur le plan culturel, aux Premières Nations, Inuit et Métis vivant dans des communautés urbaines, rurales et nordiques. Établie en 1972, l’ANCA représente les intérêts des Centres d’amitié et Associations provinciales/territoriales (APT) qui en sont membres. Sa mission consiste à améliorer la qualité de vie des Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain, en appuyant les activités dirigées par ces derniers et qui favorisent un accès et une participation égale à la société canadienne, tout en respectant et renforçant le caractère distinctif culturel de la vie des Autochtones.

 

  • Sommaire du projet

L’ANCA est à la recherche d’un agent contractuel ou d’une société contractante pour l’assister dans l’examen des systèmes de données en lien avec la collecte des données de la clientèle desservie par le Mouvement des Centres d’amitié (MCA). Le travail proposé exige que l’agent contractuel travaille en collaboration avec la direction et le personnel de l’ANCA, des APT et des CA, afin d’élaborer un rapport en conformité avec l’approche du MCA axée sur les Centres, tout en respectant les coutumes et les croyances traditionnelles autochtones.

 

  • Objectifs et portée du projet

L’objectif de ce travail proposé est de contribuer à informer le gouvernement fédéral du potentiel d’amélioration des méthodes et systèmes de collecte de données au sein du réseau des bureaux des centres d’amitié, pour assurer une collecte optimale de données des clients dans les interventions en lien avec le marché du travail, ainsi que les mesures globales de soutien leur étant associées. Ceci exigera un examen des systèmes de collecte de données en place actuellement, incluant des recommandations pour leur raffinement et/ou des suggestions d’amélioration. Une attention et une considération particulières seront accordées aux propositionx provenant de ou en collaboration avec les centres d’amitié ayant été des participants actifs dans le dossier du marché du travail au sein du Comité consultatif sur le marché du travail de l’ANCA (CCMT). La portée géographique et dans le temps comprendra toutes les informations disponibles à l’ANCA concernant les centres d’amitié partout au Canada.  Le rapport final sera rédigé en anglais pour être soumis au gouvernement fédéral.

 

Les activités suivantes seront exécutées par l’agent contractuel :

 

  1. Élaborer un plan de travail détaillé;

 

  1. Faire l’examen des documents existants reliés aux centres d’amitié, fournir une orientation stratégique au personnel de l’ANCA et travailler avec celui-ci dans le but d’élaborer un schéma permettant d’identifier toute recherche ou tout matériel contextuels additionnels pouvant être nécessaires à l’élaboration du rapport;

 

  1. Travailler avec le personnel de l’ANCA, effectuer toute recherche additionnelle telle que précisée;

 

  1. Travailler avec le personnel de l’ANCA, compiler les résultats et élaborer le rapport, incluant (sans s’y limiter) :
    1. Un aperçu de l’actuel réseau national des centres d’amitié en lien avec l’emploi, la formation, des informations sur le marché du travail, ainsi que l’enregistrement, la mesure, l’analyse et la transmission de ces informations;
    2. L’inclusion de tous recommandations et constats pertinents provenant de rapports en lien avec cette DP, ainsi que les implications en découlant pour la collecte, la coordination et la normalisation des données;
  • Un examen détaillé des méthodes de collecte de données actuelles utilisées au sein du MCA;
  1. Souligner et analyser les meilleures pratiques au sein du MCA pour la collecte de données sur les clients en lien avec les interventions et les résultats pour le marché du travail, incluant sans s’y limiter :
    • Type de données collectées; ex. : orientation carrière/emploi; formation professionnelle, etc.;
    • L’enregistrement de services englobants et leur lien avec les résultats du marché du travail pour les clients des CA;
    • Le lien avec d’autres parties prenantes incluant des employeurs, des partenaires communautaires non-CA, etc.;
    • Comparer, contraster et identifier les avantages/désavantages d’adopter ou d’adapter certains systèmes de collecte de données présentement utilisés au sein du mouvement, afin d’être utiliser dans le réseau national des CA;
  2. Fournir des recommandations au sujet de l’adaptabilité des systèmes de collecte de données optimaux; des possibilités d’expansion des modèles, incluant l’analyse de faisabilité, de mise en œuvre et d’implications;
  3. Tenir compte de considérations locales, régionales, provinciales et nationales;
  • Toutes autres composantes pouvant être exigées ou identifiées pour mieux informer le gouvernement fédéral;

 

  1. Fournir une orientation stratégique experte au besoin ou telle que demandée au fur et à mesure du projet.

 

  • Description des livrables du projet

Les livrables incluent :

  1. Un plan de travail détaillé;
  2. Un schéma du Rapport d’examen des systèmes de données;
  3. Un Ébauche du rapport d’examen des systèmes de données;
  4. Un Rapport final d’examen des systèmes de données;
  5. Une présentation des constats et recommandations

 

  • Expérience et qualifications de l’agent contractuel
    1. Les candidats doivent démontrer une connaissance approfondie de la livraison de programmes et de formation à l’emploi pour les Autochtones, et une connaissance technique des systèmes de gestion de données des clientèles au sein du réseau des CA. À cet égard, une note sera accordée en fonction de l’expérience de travail au sein des APT et/ou centres d’amitié faisant partie du mouvement, ou conjointement avec ceux-ci. Des connaissances techniques au sujet du développement, de la conception et des capacités d’expansion de bases de données sont essentielles (50 points);
    2. Les candidats doivent détenir une expérience de travail en lien avec les mesures de données avec ou au sein des bureaux du réseau des CA , ainsi qu’avoir déjà effectué, compilé et communiqué des conclusions de recherches par le biais de rapports écrits et de présentations électroniques (40 points);
    3. Les candidats doivent avoir démontré de l’expérience et/ou des connaissances de la culture et des traditions autochtones (5 points);
    4. Le bilinguisme sera considéré comme un atout (5 points).

 

  • Sélection des offres
    1. Méthode de sélection
      1. Le candidat retenu sera choisi selon le score obtenu dans l’évaluation de l’expérience et des qualifications de l’agent contractuel décrites ci-dessus, en plus de :
      2. La démonstration de la compréhension des objectifs du projet, des livrables et de l’approche et la méthodologie, incluant la fourniture du plan de travail initial (activités principales et échéanciers);
  • La démonstration de travail précédent, incluant des exemples qui font preuve d’expérience précédente ou d’expertise à effectuer du travail en lien avec le sujet et la portée de cette DP;
  1. La preuve de 2 à 3 ans d’expérience dans les 7 dernières années à effectuer de la recherche au niveau national dans un contexte autochtone.

 

  • Paramètres du contrat
    1. Valeur

La valeur maximale du contrat est fixée tout au plus à 24 000 $, incluant les taxes. Les propositions reçues au-delà de cette limite maximale ne seront pas considérées dans ce processus. L’ANCA n’encourt aucune responsabilité envers les sous contractants pouvant être retenus dans le cadre de ce contrat.

 

  1. Durée

Le contrat sera en vigueur du 17 décembre 2018 au 31 mars 2019.

 

  1. Lieu de travail

L’agent contractuel devra travailler à partir de son lieu de travail habituel et fournir ses propres équipements et infrastructures de travail pour compléter le travail exigé dans le cadre de ce projet, incluant bureau, ordinateur/portable, téléphone/cellulaire/télécopieur, imprimante, accès Internet et tout autre matériel nécessaire pour mener à terme ce projet. L’agent contractuel maintiendra une communication avec l’ANCA par le biais de téléconférence et réunions en ligne de façon régulière et au besoin. Selon les disponibilités, il peut y avoir une réunion en personne à Ottawa au cours du projet, selon les échéanciers. Si l’agent contractuel devait se déplacer au cours de ce projet, les coûts et les arrangements associés seraient coordonnés et couverts directement par l’ANCA à part de la valeur de ce contrat, et devraient d’abord être discutés et approuvés par l’ANCA. Les frais de déplacements valables pour l’agent contractuel pouvant être couverts au préalable, sous réservation faite par l’ANCA le cas échéant, incluent les billets d’avion, les repas, les per diem et les hôtels aux taux établis par le Conseil du Trésor. Les frais de déplacements valables pour l’agent contractuel que rembourserait l’ANCA suite au déplacement, avec pièces justificatives le cas échéant, incluent le transport terrestre, le kilométrage, le stationnement à l’aéroport et les taxis, aux taux établis par le Conseil du Trésor.

 

  1. Propriété intellectuelle

Tous les renseignements, documents et ressources documentaires élaborés dans le cadre de ce contrat et du travail en lien avec ce projet demeureront la propriété intellectuelle de l’ANCA.

 

  1. Responsabilités de l’ANCA

L’ANCA fournira à l’agent contractuel tout le matériel de base, ainsi que tout autre matériel et information nécessaires afin de compléter les livrables du projet.

 

L’ANCA assurera le soutien du personnel envers l’agent contractuel à toutes les étapes de ce contrat et projet, et travaillera étroitement avec l’agent contractuel afin d’identifier d’autres exigences contextuelles en matière de recherche, aidera à effectuer toute recherche additionnelle requise et fournira une orientation au besoin en lien avec les objectifs, les schémas et le rapport.

 

L’agent contractuel fournira des mises à jour sur l’état d’avancement du projet au fur et à mesure que les livrables sont complétés et à la demande de l’ANCA.

 

  1. Exigences envers l’agent contractuel

L’agent contractuel devra mener à terme toutes les activités et tous les livrables du projet tels que décrits dans cette DP et à la satisfaction de l’ANCA.

 

L’agent contractuel devra s’orienter selon la direction et la rétroaction fournies par l’ANCA afin de compléter les livrables du projet.

 

  1. Modalités de paiement

Le paiement sera effectué par l’ANCA suite à la réalisation de chaque livrable du projet et à la réception d’une facture de la part de l’agent contractuel.

 

  • Exigences relatives à une soumission pour cette demande de propositions

Les personnes ou les firmes intéressées à offrir leurs services pour cette demande de propositions doivent fournir à l’ANCA ce qui suit :

  1. Une proposition décrivant le travail prévu par l’agent contractuel afin d’atteindre les objectifs, les activités et les livrables de ce projet;
  2. Le plan de travail initial, incluant une estimation du temps requis pour chacune des activités en terme de nombre de jours, ainsi qu’une estimation des étapes (sous-activités) nécessaires pour mener à bon terme chacune des activités;
  3. Curriculum vitae
  4. Deux échantillons/exemples de travail contractuel ou pour un projet de nature similaire, incluant le nom d’une référence et ses coordonnées pour chacun des échantillons/exemples soumis.

 

  • Date/heure de clôture :

La date limite pour cette DP est le 14 décembre 2018.

 

Les propositions doivent être reçues au plus tard à 17h (heure normale de l’Est)

et envoyées à l’attention de :

 

Directrice exécutive

Association nationale des centres d’amitié

275, rue MacLaren

Ottawa, Ontario

K2P 0L9

 

Les soumissions peuvent être envoyées par copie papier à l’adresse indiquée ci-haut, ou en format électronique par courriel à jwformsma@nafc.ca.

 

L’ANCA se dégage de toute responsabilité pour des propositions mal dirigées ou mal adressées, ou pour des propositions qui pourraient être incomplètes lors de leur réception et examen.

 

Toute question en lien avec cette DP peut être acheminée par écrit dans un courriel à :

jwformsma@nafc.ca

Initiatives en Cours