50e anniversaire

50th Anniversary Banner

L'Association nationale des centres d'amitié (ANCA) est très fière et honorée de célébrer son 50e anniversaire cette année ! Notre anniversaire officiel a lieu du 13 au 17 septembre 1971, date à laquelle l'ANCA nouvellement créée a tenu sa première assemblée annuelle à Edmonton, en Alberta.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les activités et les événements qui auront lieu cette année :


Rebrand

En juillet 2021, l'ANCA a dévoilé sa nouvelle marque, un nouveau logo et un nouveau site Web. Le nouveau look de l'ANCA s'aligne sur la vision articulée dans notre plan stratégique décennal. Pour en savoir plus sur le symbolisme de notre nouvelle marque, consultez la page Notre logo sur notre site web. 


Événements

Assemblée générale annuelle

En raison de la pandémie mondiale Covid-19, l'Association nationale des centres d'amitié (ANCA) a fait de sa 50e assemblée annuelle et de son 32e forum annuel des jeunes un événement virtuel le 28 novembre 2021.

 

Célébration du coup d'envoi du 50e anniversaire

Le 15 septembre 2021, l'ANCA a donné le coup d'envoi de son 50e anniversaire par une célébration virtuelle, qui comprenait de la musique et des spectacles en direct de partout au pays, ainsi que des messages spéciaux de partisans clés du Mouvement des centres d'amitié !

                                                                                                                                                                                  

 

 


Messages de félicitations

L'ANCA a reçu de nombreux messages de félicitations de personnes et d'organisations de partout au pays !

 

 


BCAAFC

Owen Charters, Président et chef de la direction de BGC Canada

Centre d'amitié autochtone de Trois-Rivières

Peter Dinsdale, président et chef de la direction de YMCA Canada ;
Ancien directeur exécutif de l'ANCA (2004-2011)

Ki-Low-Na Friendship Society 

Animikii

 Alberta Native Friendship Centre Association (ANFCA)

 

Vera Pawis Tabobondung, sénatrice de l'ANCA et ancienne présidente du conseil d'administration de l'ANCA

 Dominique (T8aminik) Rankin, Sénateur de l'ANCA

 Marjorie (Marge) White, Sénateur de l'ANCA  Kelly Benning, vice-président de l'ANCA  Mary Deacon de Bell Let's Talk

 RoseAnne Archibald de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations 

 L'ancien premier ministre Paul Martin

 MP Dan Vandal

 Dr. Cindy Blackstock
 Association des agents financiers autochtones (AAFA)  Winnipeg Indigenous Friendship Centre    

Médias


À la recherche de souvenirs de l'ANCA

En vue des célébrations de notre 50e anniversaire, nous sollicitons nos membres pour savoir si vous avez des photos, des histoires ou des souvenirs des premières années de l'ANCA ! Nous espérons présenter ces objets sous forme numérique (sur le portail des membres et dans un diaporama) ainsi que dans une vitrine lors de la réunion annuelle.

Nous sommes intéressés par tous les articles que vous pouvez avoir, mais voici quelques idées d'articles que nous recherchons :

  • Des photos de réunions, d'événements, d'assemblées de l'ANCA, etc.

  • Des coupures de journaux

  • Histoires des "premiers jours".

  • Souvenirs de l'ANCA

  • Des rapports d'importance historique, y compris des bulletins d'information, des rapports annuels, etc.

Vous êtes invités à nous envoyer une photo de l'objet ou si vous souhaitez nous prêter physiquement l'objet pour qu'il soit exposé dans notre vitrine, nous veillerons à ce qu'il soit soigneusement entretenu et vous le rende après la réunion annuelle.

Si vous avez des questions ou des suggestions pour les célébrations du 50e anniversaire, veuillez contacter Mel Maracle à melmaracle@nafc.ca.


Capsule temporelle de l'ANCA

L'ANCA va créer une capsule virtuelle pour honorer l'histoire du Mouvement des centres d'amitié et marquer nos espoirs pour l'avenir. Nous souhaitons qu'au moins un article soit soumis par chaque Centre d'amitié et APT. Comme il s'agit d'un exercice virtuel, nous invitons tous les Centres d'amitié et les Associations provinciales et/ou territoriales à soumettre des photographies d'objets ou de personnes qui nous donnent un aperçu de votre CF ou APT en 2021.

Une fois que vous aurez choisi ce que vous voulez soumettre, veuillez répondre brièvement aux trois questions suivantes, qui seront intégrées à votre contribution.

  1. Qu'est-ce que les 50 dernières années du Mouvement des centres d'amitié ont signifié pour les peuples autochtones urbains ?

  2. Qu'avez-vous soumis à la capsule temporelle et pourquoi ? Quelle histoire voulez-vous qu'elle raconte à propos de votre Centre d'amitié ou de votre APT ?

  3. Quelle est votre vision pour votre Centre d'amitié/APT et le Mouvement des centres d'amitié dans 50 ans ?

Vous n'êtes pas certain de ce que vous voulez envoyer ? Voici quelques exemples d'idées : une photo récente du personnel ou d'un événement, une photo d'un objet culturel qui vous aide à orienter votre travail, des dessins faits à la main par des enfants, ou tout autre élément qui a une signification pour votre Centre d'amitié !

Une fois que l'ANCA aura reçu toutes les soumissions, nous ferons notre possible pour les combiner en un seul document en ligne qui sera partagé lors de la prochaine assemblée générale annuelle en 2022. Ensuite, le personnel de l'ANCA le conservera pendant 10 ans.

La date limite pour soumettre votre article est le 30 novembre 2021. Veuillez envoyer vos réponses à Paige Kezima, responsable des adhésions, à l'adresse pkezima@nafc.ca. En outre, veuillez envoyer une image de votre logo pour accompagner votre contribution. Paige tiendra également un stand lors de l'assemblée générale annuelle de 2021 où vous pourrez partager vos photos et vos réponses.

50th Anniversary

50th Anniversary Banner

The National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC) is very proud and honoured to be celebrating their 50th Anniversary this year! Our official anniversary date takes place on September 13-17, 1971 as this was the date that the newly established NAFC held their first Annual Meeting in Edmonton, Alberta.

Learn more about some of the activities and events that are happening this year:


Rebrand

In July 2021, the NAFC revealed our new brand, a new logo and a new website. The NAFC's new look aligns with the vision articulated in our 10-year Strategic Plan. Learn more about the symbolism behind our new brand by visiting the Our Logo page on our website. 


Events

Annual General Meeting

agm-notice

We invite our Members to SAVE THE DATE for the National Association of Friendship Centre’s (NAFC) landmark 50th Annual Meeting and 32nd Annual Youth Forum! Due to the Covid-19 global pandemic, we are planning a hybrid in-person and virtual event. There will be no obligation to attend in-person if you are not comfortable travelling at this time.

When:

  • Annual Youth Forum: November 26-27, 2021
  • Annual General Meeting: November 28-30, 2021

Where:

  • In-person event: Victoria Convention Centre in Victoria, British Columbia
  • Virtual event: More details will be provided in the coming months regarding registration.

For our in-person event, the NAFC will be strictly following provincial and local public health guidelines and directives as well as site specific policies and procedures to ensure that the Annual Meeting event plan and venue complies with all COVID-19 prevention regulations.

Registration: For registration details, please visit the NAFC's Member's Portal for more information! If you don't have a Member's Portal account, please send an email to communications@nafc.ca

 

50th Anniversary Kick-off Celebration

 

On September 15, 2021, the NAFC kicked-off our 50th Anniversary with a virtual celebration, which included live music and performances from across the country, as well as special messages from key supporters of the Friendship Centre Movement!

This sentence is invisibleThis sentence is invisibleThis sentence is invisible

 

Congratulatory Messages

The NAFC has received many congratulatory messages from individuals and organizations from across the country! 

BCAAFC

Owen Charters, President & CEO of BGC Canada

Centre d'amitié autochtone de Trois-Rivières

Peter Dinsdale, YMCA Canada President and Chief Executive Officer;
Former NAFC Executive Director (2004-2011)

Ki-Low-Na Friendship Society 

Animikii

Alberta Native Friendship Centre Association (ANFCA)

 

Vera Pawis Tabobondung, NAFC Senator and Former NAFC Board President

 

NAFC Senator Dominique (T8aminik) Rankin

 NAFC Senator Marjorie (Marge) White NAFC's VIce President Kelly Benning  Mary Deacon from Bell Let's Talk

 

 RoseAnne Archibald  from Assembly of First Nations

 

Former Prime Minister Paul Martin

 

MP Dan Vandal

 

Dr. Cindy Blackstock

 

 Aboriginal Financial Officers Association (AFOA)

 Winnipeg Indigenous Friendship Centre    

Media


Seeking NAFC memorabilia

In preparation for our 50th Anniversary celebrations, we are reaching out to our members to see if you have any photos, stories, or memorabilia from the early years of the NAFC! We are hoping to showcase these items digitally (over the Member’s Portal and in a slideshow) as well as in a display case at the Annual Meeting. 

We are interested in looking at all items you may have, but some ideas of items what we are looking for include:

  • Photos from NAFC meetings, events, assemblies, etc.
  • Newspaper clippings
  • Stories from the “early days”
  • NAFC memorabilia
  • Reports of historical significance, including newsletters, annual reports, etc.

You are invited to either send us a photo of the item(s) or if you would like to physically lend us the item for us in our display case, we will ensure that they are carefully looked after and returned to you after the Annual Meeting.

If you have any questions or suggestions for the 50th Anniversary celebrations, please contact Mel Maracle at melmaracle@nafc.ca.


NAFC Time Capsule

The NAFC will be creating a virtual capsule to honour the history of the Friendship Centre Movement and mark our hopes for the future. We aim to have at least one item submitted from each Friendship Centre and PTA. As this will be a virtual exercise, we invite all Friendship Centres and Provincial and/or Territorial Associations to submit photographs of items or people that give us a snapshot of your FC or PTA in 2021.

Once you have chosen what you want to submit, please provide a short answer to these 3 questions, which will be incorporated into your entry.

  1. What has the last 50 years of the Friendship Centre Movement meant for urban Indigenous peoples?

  2. What have you submitted to the time capsule and why? What story do you want it to tell about your Friendship Centre or PTA?

  3. What is your vision for your Friendship Centre/PTA and the Friendship Centre Movement in 50 years?

Not sure what you want to send in? Some examples of ideas include a recent staff or event photo, a picture of a cultural item that helps guide your work, hand drawn artwork from children, or anything else that means something to your Friendship Centre!

Once the NAFC has received all submissions, we’ll work our magic to combine them into one online document to be shared at the next Annual General Meeting in 2022. After that, the NAFC staff will tuck it away for 10 years.

The deadline to submit your item is November 30, 2021 to submit. Please send your responses to Paige Kezima, Membership Officer, at pkezima@nafc.ca. Additionally, please send an image of your logo to accompany your entry. Paige will also have a booth at the 2021 Annual General Meeting where you can share your photos and answers.