Two New Native Friendship Centres Join the RCAAQ

Wendake, June 13, 2017 – The 38th Annual General Meeting of the Regroupement des centres d’amitié autochtones du Québec (RCAAQ) was held in Val-d’Or on June 10 and provided an opportunity for the Maniwaki and Lac-Saint-Jean Native Friendship Centres to exercise their membership rights for the very first time. Having officially joined the provincial association, both Centres play an active role on behalf of Aboriginal people in their respective regions while helping to promote the mission of Quebec’s Native Friendship Centres.

In operation since the fall of 2016, the Native Friendship Centres in Maniwaki and Lac-Saint-Jean are the products of a broad-based initiative by Aboriginals seeking to implement a culturally safe and relevant service structure at the local level. Today, over one-half of Quebec’s First Nations live outside their communities of origin. Present in towns and cities with a significant Aboriginal presence, Native Friendship Centres constitute the largest service network for urban Aboriginal people in Quebec.

Christine Jean re-elected president

During the AGM, members reiterated their confidence in Christine Jean by re-electing her as RCAAQ president for a two-year term. Ms. Jean pledged to stay attuned to members’ concerns and to meet their expectations. She also intends to continue ongoing lobbying efforts involving government bodies and other partners with a view to promoting and defending the rights and interests of urban Aboriginal people.

The RCAAQ is made up of nine Native Friendship Centres and a Service Point based in the following localities: Chibougamau, Joliette, La Tuque, Maniwaki, Montréal, Roberval, Senneterre, Sept-Îles, Trois-Rivières and Val-d’Or. Quebec’s Native Friendship Centres seek to improve the quality of life of urban Aboriginals while promoting culture and building bridges between peoples.

– 30 –

Contact: Joannie Caron, Communications Advisor

418-842-6354

Recent Posts

Ongoing Initiatives

Deux nouveaux Centres d’amitié autochtones se joignent au Regroupement des centres d’amitié autochtones du Québec

Wendake, le 13 juin 2017 – La 38e Assemblée générale annuelle du Regroupement des centres d’amitié autochtones du Québec (RCAAQ), qui s’est tenue à Val-d’Or le 10 juin dernier, a été l’occasion pour le Centre d’amitié autochtone de Maniwaki et le Centre d’amitié autochtone du Lac-Saint-Jean d’exercer, pour la toute première fois, leurs droits de membre. En effet, ces deux Centres d’amitié autochtones se sont officiellement joints à notre association provinciale et sauront y jouer un rôle actif pour les Autochtones dans leur région respective en plus de contribuer au rayonnement de la mission des Centres d’amitié autochtones au Québec.

Tous deux en activités depuis l’automne 2016, ces Centres d’amitié autochtones sont issus de mobilisation citoyenne qui souhaitait se doter d’une structure de services culturellement pertinente et sécurisante dans leur ville. Aujourd’hui, plus de la moitié des Premières Nations vivent à l’extérieur de leurs communautés d’origine. Les Centres d’amitié autochtones sont présents dans les villes avec une forte présence autochtone, constituant ainsi la plus grande infrastructure de services urbains pour les citoyens autochtones au Québec.

Réélection de Mme Christine Jean à la présidence

Les membres ont réitéré leur confiance en Mme Christine Jean en lui conférant un mandat de deux ans à la présidence du RCAAQ. Mme Jean s’engage à demeurer à l’écoute des membres et à répondre à leurs attentes. De plus, elle entend poursuivre le travail continu de représentation au sein des différentes instances gouvernementales et auprès de divers partenaires afin de promouvoir et de défendre les droits et intérêts de la population autochtone urbaine.

Le Regroupement des centres d’amitié autochtones du Québec regroupe neuf Centres d’amitié autochtones et un Point de services membres dans les villes suivantes : Chibougamau, Joliette, La Tuque, Maniwaki, Montréal, Roberval, Senneterre, Sept-Îles, Trois-Rivières et Val-d’Or. La mission des Centres d’amitié autochtones du Québec est d’améliorer la qualité de vie des Autochtones en milieu urbain, promouvoir la culture et bâtir des ponts entre les peuples.

– 30 –

Source : Joannie Caron, conseillère aux communications

418-842-6354

Recent Posts

Initiatives en Cours