The National Association Welcomes New Members to its Executive Committee, Board of Directors, and Aboriginal Youth Council

[Ottawa, ON August 2, 2017] The National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC) hosted its 46th Annual Meeting this past week in Montreal, Quebec where more than 300 delegates and observers gathered to discuss issues of concern to the urban Indigenous population, provide feedback and direction to the NAFC, confirm members of its Board of Directors and elect new members to its Executive Committee.

The following individuals were elected to the Executive Committee of NAFC’s Board of Directors:

Christopher Sheppard (Newfoundland) was elected as President of the Association. Mr. Sheppard started with the Friendship Centre Movement as a member of the Aboriginal Youth Council, and has served in a variety of capacities on the NAFC Board of Directors. Most recently he served as NAFC’s interim President after the sudden passing of Mr. Nelson Mayer, President and long-time champion of the Movement.

Edith Cloutier (Quebec) replaces Bill Mintram (Saskatchewan) as Secretary of the Association.

Elijah Stirling-Mack (British Columbia) replaces Andrea Andersen as Youth representative on NAFC’s Executive Committee.

Mr. Sheppard, Ms. Cloutier, and Mr. Stirling-Mack join remaining Executive Committee Members, Kelly Benning (Alberta) who serves as Vice-President and Chester Langille (Ontario) who serves as the Association’s Treasurer.

Membership also confirmed the following new or returning members of the Board of Directors, Shari Caudron (Northwest Territories/ Nunavut), Anna Zanella (British Columbia), Donna Soles (Saskatchewan) replaces Tyler Sayese, Greg Fiddler (Manitoba), Tanya Sirois (Quebec), Patsy McKinney (New Brunswick), Pamela Glode-Desrochers (Nova Scotia), Jennifer Hefler-Elson (Newfoundland), Bill Webber (Yukon), Wally Sinclair (Alberta) replaces Merle White, and Rae-Anne Harper (Alberta) who replaces Desarae Bilinski as National Youth Representative.

In addition to the Annual Meeting, NAFC’s Aboriginal Youth Council (AYC) also hosted its Annual Youth Forum where youth from coast to coast to coast gathered to discuss issues of importance to urban Indigenous youth, and other business. The event also served as forum for electing members to the AYC’s Executive Committee and confirming AYC members at large. Newly elected AYC executive members include:

Rae-Anne Harper (Alberta) former Vice-President replaces Tyler Sayese as President.

Jenna Chisholm (Nova Scotia) replaces Rae-Anne Harper as Vice-President.

Lianna Rice (Labrador) replaces Brittany Whynot as Treasurer.

Ms. Harper, Ms. Chisholm, and Ms. Rice join remaining AYC Executive member Desarae Bilinski (Manitoba) who currently serves as Secretary.

The AYC also welcomes the following new and returning AYC members, Shyla Elgie (British Columbia), Stephanie (Jerri) Keeash (Ontario), Dakota Laliberte (Saskatchewan), Claudia Petiquay (Quebec), Carly Thomson (Atlantic), and Simiss Roan (Alberta) while bidding farewell to Brandy Fekete of Manitoba.

The NAFC wishes to welcome all incoming members and would like to thank departing members for their time and dedication to the Friendship Centre Movement.

The National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC) is a network of 125 Friendship Centres and Provincial and Territorial Associations (PTAs) from coast-to-coast-to-coast. Friendship Centres are Canada’s most significant off-reserve Indigenous service delivery infrastructure and are the primary providers of culturally enhanced programs and services to urban Indigenous residents. For over half-a- century, Friendship Centres have been facilitating the transition of Indigenous people from rural, remote and reserve life to an urban environment. For many Indigenous people, Friendship Centres are the first point of contact to obtain referrals to cultural based socio-economic programs and services.

As the national body of the Friendship Centre Movement, the NAFC is democratically governed, status blind and accountable to its membership.

-30-

Media Contact:

Erin Corston, Executive Director

Email: ecorston@nafc.ca

Telephone: 613-563-4844

Recent Posts

Ongoing Initiatives

L’Association nationale des centres d’amitié accueille les nouveaux membres au sein de son comité exécutif, de son conseil d’administration et du Conseil des jeunes autochtones.

[Ottawa (Ont.), le 2 août  2017] La semaine dernière, l’Association nationale des centres d’amitié (ANCA) a tenu sa 46e assemblée générale annuelle à Montréal (Québec), où se sont réunis plus de 300 délégués et observateurs pour discuter de questions qui préoccupent la population autochtone vivant en milieu urbain, pour fournir des commentaires et des directives à l’ANCA, pour confirmer les membres de son conseil d’administration et pour élire de nouveaux membres au sein de son comité exécutif.

Les personnes suivantes ont été élues au sein du comité exécutif du conseil d’administration de l’ANCA:

Christopher Sheppard (Terre-Neuve) a été élu président de l’Association. M. Sheppard s’est joint au Mouvement des Centres d’amitié à titre de membre du Conseil des jeunes autochtones et a occupé diverses fonctions au sein du conseil d’administration de l’ANCA. Il a récemment exercé les fonctions de président intérimaire après le décès inattendu de M. Nelson Mayer, ancien président et défenseur de longue date du Mouvement.

Edith Cloutier (Québec) remplace Bill Mintram (Saskatchewan) à titre de secrétaire de l’Association.

Elijah Stirling-Mack (Colombie-Britannique) remplace Andrea Andersen à titre de représentant des jeunes au sein du Comité exécutif de l’ANCA.

Sheppard, Mme Cloutier et M. Stirling-Mack se joignent aux membres réélus du Comité exécutif; Kelly Benning (Alberta), vice-présidente et Chester Langille (Ontario), trésorier de l’Association.

Les membres ont confirmé l’élection ou la réélection des personnes suivantes au sein du conseil d’administration : Shari Caudron (Territoires du Nord-Ouest et Nunavut), Anna Zanella (Colombie- Britannique), Donna Soles (Saskatchewan) en remplacement de Tyler Sayese, Greg Fiddler (Manitoba), Tanya Sirois (Québec), Patsy McKinney (Nouveau-Brunswick), Pamela Glode-Desrochers (Nouvelle- Écosse), Jennifer Hefler-Elson (Terre-Neuve), Bill Webber (Yukon), Wally Sinclair (Alberta) en remplacement de Merle White, et Rae-Anne Harper (Alberta) qui remplace Desarae Bilinski à titre de représentante nationale des jeunes.

En plus de l’assemblée générale annuelle, le Conseil des jeunes autochtones (CJA) de l’ANCA a tenu son Forum annuel des jeunes, où se sont réunis des jeunes des quatre coins du pays pour discuter de questions d’importance pour les jeunes Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain ainsi que d’autres questions.  L’activité a également servi de tribune pour élire des membres au sein du Comité exécutif du CJA et pour confirmer l’élection des membres à titre personnel au sein du CJA. Voici les nouveaux élus au sein du Comité exécutif du CJA:

Rae-Anne Harper (Alberta), ancienne vice-présidente, remplace Tyler Sayese à titre de présidente.

Jenna Chisholm (Nouvelle-Écosse) remplace Rae-Anne Harper à titre de vice-présidente.

Lianna Rice (Labrador) remplace Brittany Whynot à titre de trésorière.

Mmes Harper, Chisholm et Rice se joignent à la membre réélue du Comité exécutif du CJA, Desarae Bilinski (Manitoba), actuelle secrétaire du comité.

De plus, le CJA accueille les nouveaux membres et les membres réélus suivants : Shyla Elgie (Colombie- Britannique), Stephanie (Jerri) Keeash (Ontario), Dakota Laliberte (Saskatchewan), Claudia Petiquay (Québec), Carly Thomson (région de l’Atlantique) et Simiss Roan (Alberta) et dit au revoir à Brandy Fekete du Manitoba.

L’ANCA souhaite la bienvenue à tous les nouveaux membres et tient à remercier les membres qui nous quittent pour leur dévouement et le temps qu’ils ont consacré au Mouvement des Centres d’amitié.

L’ANCA est un réseau de 125 Centres d’amitié et de sept Associations provinciales/territoriales (APT) déployé d’un océan à l’autre. Les Centres d’amitié représentent la plus importante infrastructure de prestation de services pour les Autochtones en milieu urbain au Canada et sont les principaux fournisseurs de programmes et de services culturellement pertinents pour les Autochtones dans les villes. Depuis plus d’un demi-siècle, les Centres d’amitié aident les personnes autochtones issues d’une communauté rurale ou d’une réserve à faire la transition vers un mode de vie urbain. Pour de nombreux Autochtones, les Centres d’amitié sont le premier point de contact et d’aiguillage vers des services socio-économiques basés sur leur culture.

En tant qu’organe de direction nationale du Mouvement des Centres d’amitié, l’ANCA est gérée de façon démocratique, apolitique et doit rendre des comptes au gouvernement fédéral et à ses membres.

– 30-

Contact:

Erin Corston, directrice générale

ecorston@nafc.ca

Téléphone: 613-563-4844

Recent Posts

Initiatives en Cours