Urban Programming for Indigenous Peoples

Organizational Capacity |  Programs and Services |  Coalitions |  Research and Innovation | Funding Allocations

Background

The Government of Canada seeks to contribute towards reconciliation with Indigenous peoples through improved coordination, supporting coalitions, and the broadening and strengthening of programming by identifying and addressing local needs of all urban Indigenous peoples.

The Indigenous population is diverse and young, with nearly half (44.6%) of the population under the age of twenty-five years. It is expected that the Indigenous population will remain the fastest growing segment of the Canadian population and more than half of Indigenous peoples in Canada live in urban centres.

The reasons why Indigenous people move to urban centres are many and range from education and job opportunities to the lifestyle found in the city. The transition to urban life can, however, be difficult and many of those seeking urban life are often unable to access the supports needed for a successful transition from often remote and isolated reserves.

In May 2017, the Government of Canada announced the launch of the Urban Programming for Indigenous Peoples (UPIP) which replaces the previous Urban Aboriginal Strategy, based on feedback received during the engagement on the Urban Aboriginal Strategy that took place in 2016.

The UPIP aims to improve the quality of life for the more than 780,000 Indigenous people living in Canada’s urban areas. The Program offers four streams of funding: 1) organizational capacity; 2) programs and services; 3) coalition tables; and 4) research and innovation.

NAFC will administer the Friendship Centre’s Organization Capacity and Program and Services funding through its network of Provincial Territorial Associations (PTAs). The NAFC will also administer the program directly to Friendship Centres in the Atlantic Region (5 Centres) and the Yukon (1 Centre).

Funding Streams

  1.  Organizational Capacity
  2.  Programs and Services
  3.  Coalitions
  4.  Research and Innovation

INAC has retained funding under the organizational capacity and programs and services funding streams and will administer funds for all other Indigenous organizations, through a Call for Proposals.

 

Ongoing Initiatives

Programmes urbains pour les peuples autochtones

ContexteCapacité organisationnelle | Programmes et services | Coalitions | Recherche et innovation | Affectation du financement

Contexte

Afin de contribuer à la réconciliation avec les Autochtones, le gouvernement du Canada compte améliorer la coordination, supporter des coalitions, et élargir et renforcer les programmes en cernant les besoins de tous les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain à l’échelle locale et en y répondant.

La population autochtone est diverse et jeune, près de la moitié (44,6 %) de la population ayant moins de 25 ans. On s’attend à ce que la population autochtone continue de représenter le segment de la population canadienne à la croissance démographique la plus rapide et plus de la moitié des peuples autochtones au Canada vivent dans des centres urbains.

Il y a plusieurs raisons au fait que des Autochtones migrent vers les centres urbains, que ce soit l’éducation et les possibilités d’emploi, ou encore le mode de vie que l’on retrouve dans une ville. Toutefois, la transition à la vie urbaine peut être difficile et plusieurs de ceux qui recherchent ce style de vie, provenant pour la plupart d’une réserve éloignée et isolée, sont souvent incapables d’accéder au soutien nécessaire à une transition réussie.

En mai 2017, suite aux observations recueillies au cours de la mobilisation sur la Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain qui s’est tenue en 2016, le Gouvernement du Canada a annoncé le lancement des Programmes urbains pour les peuples autochtones (PUPA), qui remplacent la Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain (SAMU).

Les PUPA visent à améliorer la qualité de vie de plus de 780 000 Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain au Canada. Ils comportent quatre volets de financement : 1) capacité organisationnelle; 2) programmes et services; 3) coalitions; et 4) recherche et innovation.

L’ANCA fera l’administration du financement pour la Capacité organisationnelle et les Programmes et services du Centre d’amitié par le biais de son réseau d’Associations provinciales et territoriales (APT). L’ANCA fera également l’administration du programme directement avec les Centres d’amitié dans la Région de l’Atlantique (5 centres) et au Yukon (1 centre).

Volets de financement

PUPA comporte quatre volets de financement :

  1. capacité organisationnelle
  2. programmes et services
  3. coalitions
  4. recherche et innovation

L’ANCA a retenu du financement pour les volets capacité organisationnelle et programmes et services, et en fera l’administration pour toutes les autres organisations autochtones, par le biais d’Appels de proposition.

Affectation du financement

Initiatives en Cours