National Association of Friendship Centres Supports the launch of the Aboriginal Peoples Survey 2017

Ottawa, ON – Statistics Canada is currently collecting data for their 2017 Aboriginal Peoples Survey (January 16 to June 30, 2017).  The Aboriginal Peoples Survey (APS) is a national survey that collects information from First Nations people living off reserve, Métis and Inuit people living in Canada. It is a thematic survey that focuses on Indigenous peoples’ participation in the Canadian economy, and includes questions on health, language, housing and mobility. More information can be found on Statistics Canada’s website.

The National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC) supports maximum participation in the APS data collection process. The more robust the information collected, the more accurate and complete picture Canada will have of the communities Friendship Centres serve.

The previous 2012 APS data has been tremendously valuable in understanding the needs of communities. The Urban Aboriginal Knowledge Network’s Demographic Project is a great example of how information gleaned from these surveys can be utilized. Your participation this year will provide a better understanding of the opportunities and challenges faced education and employment, and in accessing quality culturally appropriate health and other services.

-30-

For more information, contact:
Pamela Ouart-McNabb
Director of Research and Special Projects
Email:pouart-mcnabb@nafc.ca
Telephone: 613-563-4844

Ongoing Initiatives

L’Association nationale des centres d’amitié appuie le lancement de l’Enquête auprès des peuples autochtones de 2017

Ottawa, Ontario – Du 16 au 30 janvier, Statistique Canada recueillera les données de l’Enquête auprès des peuples autochtones de 2017. L’Enquête auprès des peuples autochtones (EAPA) est une enquête nationale sur les membres des Premières Nations vivant hors réserve, les Métis et les Inuit au Canada. L’EAPA est une enquête thématique axée sur la participation des peuples autochtones à l’économie canadienne, qui comprend des questions portant sur la santé, la langue, le logement et la mobilité. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l’EAPA, veuillez consulter le site web de Statistique Canada.

L’Association nationale des centres d’amitié (ANCA) encourage les membres de la population autochtone à participer pleinement à la collecte des données de l’EAPA. Plus les données recueillies seront précises, plus cela permettra au Canada d’obtenir un portrait exact et complet des collectivités desservies par les centres d’amitié.

Les données de la dernière EAPA (celle de 2012) se sont avérées essentielles à la compréhension des besoins de nos collectivités. Le Réseau de connaissances des Autochtones en milieu urbain est un bel exemple d’utilisation des données provenant de ces enquêtes. Votre participation permettra aussi de mieux comprendre les possibilités et les défis menant à la réussite scolaire et professionnelle, et d’accéder à des services de santé de bonne qualité et culturellement adaptés, ainsi qu’à d’autres services.

-30-

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :
Pamela Ouart-McNabb
Directrice de la recherche et des projets spéciaux
Courriel : pouart-mcnabb@nafc.ca
Téléphone : 613-563-4844

Recent Posts

Initiatives en Cours