NAFC’s Commitment to Supporting Safe and Healthy Urban Indigenous Communities

“Reconciliation between the Crown and the Indigenous Peoples of this land cannot be fully realized until the systemic barriers and root causes of violence against Indigenous Women and Girls are fully addressed.” ~ Christopher Sheppard, President of the National Association of Friendship Centres.

[Ottawa, October 4, 2017] The Board of Directors of the National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC) would like to extend its ongoing thoughts and prayers to the families and friends of the more than 1180 Indigenous Women and Girls who have gone missing or whose lives have been taken through senseless acts of violence.  It encourages all Canadians to take time today to remember those who have been lost along with their families and loved ones.  NAFC also encourages all Canadians to honour and celebrate Indigenous women and girls for the valuable contributions that they continue to make to their families and communities, and to Canada as a whole.

“Friendship Centres across Canada from coast-to-coast-to-coast have been working for more than 50-years to support the development of safe and healthy communities for all urban Indigenous people in Canada.  In doing so, it strives to deliver culturally enhanced “wrap around programs and services” to more than 780,000 through 119 Friendship Centres across Canada,” said NAFC Executive Director Erin Corston. She went on to say that, “despite our best efforts Friendship Centres are often limited in the support that they can provide as many Centres struggle to provide basic services due to lack of funding. If we are going to address the root causes of violence we must ensure a reliable continuum of services that meet the needs of the growing urban Indigenous population across their life span.”

To ensure that Friendship Centres are well equipped to advocate for improved programs and services, the NAFC has developed a public policy position.  The position statement titled, Building and Supporting Safe and Healthy Urban Indigenous Communities (2017) solidifies the NAFC’s commitment to ending violence against Indigenous Women and Girls in all its forms and provides examples of how others including governments, organizations and individuals can contribute to safety and wellbeing of all Indigenous Women and Girls not only today but for generations to come.  “We need the support of all Canadians if we are going to end the epidemic of violence against our Women and Girls.  It is an integral step in the reconciliation process as reconciliation between Canada and the Indigenous Peoples of this land cannot be fully realized until the systemic barriers and root causes of this violence are fully addressed,” stated NAFC President Christopher Sheppard.

National Association of Friendship Centres

The National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC) is a network of 125 Friendship Centres and Provincial and Territorial Associations (PTAs) from coast-to-coast-to-coast. Friendship Centres are Canada’s most significant off-reserve Indigenous service delivery infrastructure and are the primary providers of culturally enhanced programs and services to urban Indigenous residents. For over half-a-century, Friendship Centres have been facilitating the transition of Indigenous people from rural, remote and reserve life to an urban environment. For many Indigenous people, Friendship Centres are the first point of contact to obtain referrals to cultural based socio-economic programs and services.

 

###

-30-

 

Media Contact:

Marylou Mintram, Communications Officer
Email: mmintram@nafc.ca
Telephone: 613-563-4844

For more information on our policy statement visit:
Building and Supporting Safe and Healthy Urban Indigenous Communities:
National Association of Friendship Centre’s Policy Position Statement on Addressing Violence Against Indigenous Women and Girls.

 

Recent Posts

Ongoing Initiatives

L’ANCA s’engage pour des Communautés autochtones urbaines sûres et en santé

« La réconciliation entre la Couronne et les peuples autochtones dans ce pays ne sera pas pleinement réalisée tant que les barrières systémiques et les causes profondes de la violence envers les femmes et les filles autochtones ne seront pas traitées dans leur intégralité. »
Christopher Sheppard, président de l’Association nationale des centres d’amitié

 

Ottawa, le 4 octobre 2017 – Le conseil d’administration de l’Association nationale des centres d’amitié (ANCA) désire adresser ses pensées et prières aux plus de 1 180 femmes et filles autochtones disparues ou mortes des suites d’actes de violence insensés. Il encourage tous les Canadiens à prendre le temps aujourd’hui de se souvenir de toutes ces femmes et jeunes filles ainsi que de leurs proches. L’ANCA encourage aussi tous les Canadiens à honorer et célébrer les contributions précieuses que les femmes et les filles autochtones continuent d’apporter à leurs familles, à leurs communautés et à l’ensemble du Canada.

« Les 119 Centres d’amitié présents partout au Canada œuvrent depuis plus de cinquante ans à favoriser le développement de communautés sûres et en santé pour les plus de 780 000 Autochtones qui vivent dans les grandes villes du pays. Pour ce faire, ils offrent des programmes appropriés au regard de la culture et qui répondent à des besoins de toute nature, a déclaré Erin Corston, directrice générale de l’ANCA. Malgré tous nos efforts, les services que les Centres d’amitié sont en mesure d’offrir sont souvent limités, car beaucoup ont du mal à financer même leurs programmes essentiels. Si nous voulons lutter contre les causes profondes de la violence, nous devons assurer une bonne continuité des services qui soutiennent les Autochtones qui sont de plus en plus nombreux à s’installer en ville, tout au long de leur vie. »

Pour aider les Centres d’amitié à se doter des moyens nécessaires pour défendre et promouvoir l’amélioration continue de leurs programmes et services, l’ANCA a rédigé une position de principe (en anglais) intitulée Building and Supporting Safe and Healthy Urban Indigenous Communities (2017) [Bâtir et appuyer des communautés autochtones urbaines sûres et en santé, NDT]. Cette position de principe a pour but de cimenter l’engagement de l’ANCA à mettre fin à la violence envers les femmes et les filles autochtones sous toutes ses formes et de suggérer des mesures que les divers gouvernements, les particuliers et organisations peuvent adopter pour assurer la sécurité et le bien-être des femmes et des filles autochtones, aujourd’hui et pour les générations à venir. « Nous avons besoin de l’appui de tous les Canadiens pour mettre fin à cette épidémie de violence contre nos femmes et nos filles. C’est une étape essentielle sur le chemin de la réconciliation. La réconciliation entre la Couronne et les peuples autochtones dans ce pays ne sera pas pleinement réalisée tant que les barrières systémiques et les causes profondes de la violence envers les femmes et les filles autochtones ne seront pas traitées dans leur intégralité, » a ajouté Christopher Sheppard, président de l’ANCA.

 

 Association nationale des centres d’amitié

L’Association nationale des centres d’amitié est un réseau de 125 Centres d’amitié d’Associations provinciales ou territoriales qui couvre l’ensemble du pays. Les Centres d’amitié représentent l’infrastructure de prestation de services aux Autochtones hors réserve la plus importante au Canada. Ils sont les principaux fournisseurs de programmes et de services adaptés sur le plan culturel pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain. Depuis plus d’un demi-siècle, les Centres d’amitié facilitent la transition en milieu urbain des Autochtones provenant des régions rurales, éloignées et des réserves. Pour bon nombre d’entre eux, les Centres d’amitié sont le premier point de contact pour accéder à des programmes et des services socio-économiques sensibles à leur culture.

 

-30-

 

Marylou Mintram

Agente de communication

(613) 563-4844 poste 330

Recent Posts

Initiatives en Cours