NAFC Welcomes Urban Programming for Indigenous Peoples (UPIP)

Ottawa, ON May 26, 2017 – The National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC) welcomes the recent announcement by Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) regarding the newly established Urban Programming for Indigenous Peoples (UPIP). The program, which replaces the previous Urban Aboriginal Strategy (UAS), aims to improve the quality of life for the more than 780,000 Indigenous people living in Canada’s urban areas.

The Friendship Centre Movement has long advocated for stable and predictable funding for Friendship Centres who engage annually in more than 2.3 million points of service contact through 118 Friendship Centres that are located across Canada from coast-to-coast-to-coast.

“Yesterday’s announcement is an important first step in ensuring the sustainability of Canada’s largest urban Indigenous service infrastructure,” said Christopher Sheppard, NAFC President.

While the funding falls short in terms of its ability to adequately meet the diverse and unique needs of the urban Indigenous population, the NAFC is encouraged by the commitment and is confident that Centres will benefit from the new program.

“Friendship Centres are experts in their ability to leverage other funds using federal contributions to ensure that they are able to deliver vital culturally-centred and community-driven programs and services,” stated NAFC Executive Director Erin Corston.

“Centres currently on average leverage 8 dollars for every dollar received from INAC,” she added. “Leveraging at this rate requires a great deal of commitment and creativity, and I am confident that Centres will rise to the challenge as they always have.”

The NAFC looks forward to a continued dialogue with INAC and other departments as it works to identify and co-develop opportunities to expand the Government of Canada’s support of the urban Indigenous population. In the meantime, the NAFC through its Board of Directors and National Negotiating Committee will be working closely with INAC to expedite the allocation of funds to Friendship Centres as a means of ensuring the continuity of programs and services.

-30-

Media Contact:

Erin Corston, Executive Director
Email: ecorston@nafc.ca
Telephone: 613-563-4844

Recent Posts

Ongoing Initiatives

L’ANCA accueille favorablement le nouveau programme urbain pour les peuples autochtones (PUPA)

Ottawa, Ontario, le 26 mai 2017 – L’Association nationale des centres d’amitié (ANCA) se réjouit de l’annonce faite récemment par le ministère des Affaires autochtones et du Nord du Canada (AANC) de la création d’un programme urbain pour les peuples autochtones (PUPA). Le programme remplace l’ancienne Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain et vise à améliorer la qualité de vie des plus de 780 000 Autochtones qui vivent dans les agglomérations urbaines du Canada.

Le mouvement des Centres d’amitié travaille depuis longtemps à assurer un financement stable pour ses 118 centres qui gèrent 2,3 millions de contacts par an dans tout le Canada.

« L’annonce d’hier signale un premier pas important pour assurer la continuité de la plus grande infrastructure de service aux Autochtones qui vivent en milieu urbain, » a dit Christopher Sheppard, président de l’ANCA.

Bien que le financement ne suffise pas à répondre aux besoins divers et particuliers de la population autochtone citadine, l’ANCA voit dans cet engagement un point positif et encourageant pour les centres d’amitié, qui sauront tirer le meilleur parti de ces fonds.

Les centres d’amitié sont experts dans leur domaine et savent comment s’appuyer sur leurs subventions fédérales pour obtenir d’autres financements et offrir des programmes et services communautaires vitaux et adaptés au plan culturel, » a déclaré Erin Corston, directrice générale de l’ANCA.

« En moyenne, les centres obtiennent 8 dollars d’autres sources pour chaque dollar octroyé par AANC, a-t-elle ajouté. De tels résultats exigent un véritable engagement et beaucoup de créativité, et je suis certaine qu’ils sauront relever ce nouveau défi, comme ils l’ont toujours fait. »

L’ANCA se réjouit de poursuivre son dialogue avec AANC et d’autres ministères pour développer de nouvelles possibilités de soutien du gouvernement fédéral à la population autochtone citadine du Canada. En attendant, l’ANCA, par l’entremise de son conseil d’administration et de son comité national de négociation collaboreront étroitement avec AANC pour accélérer l’allocation des fonds aux centres d’amitié pour assurer la bonne continuité de leurs programmes et services.

-30-

Personne à contacter:

Erin Corston, Directrice générale
Courriel : ecorston@nafc.ca
Téléphone : 613-563-4844

Recent Posts

Initiatives en Cours