NAFC launches social media campaign that paints everything orange to generate awareness

NAFC launches social media campaign that paints everything orange to generate awareness for Orange Shirt Day on September 30th 2017.

Part of walking in reconciliation is to understand that we all have a responsibility to participate.
– Christopher Sheppard, President.

[Ottawa, ON September 26, 2017] — National Association of Friendship Centers (NAFC) is pleased to announce the launch of a social media campaign in recognition of Orange Shirt Day which takes place on September 30, 2017. The annual Orange Shirt Day on September 30th opens the door to global conversation on all aspects of Residential Schools. It is an opportunity to create meaningful discussion about the effects of Residential Schools and the legacy they have left behind. A discussion all Canadians can tune into where bridges are created with each other for reconciliation. A day for survivors and those affected by Residential Schools to be reaffirmed that they matter, and their experiences are acknowledged in a respectful manner. Every Child Matters, even if they find themselves as an adult today.

Individuals and organizations are invited to visit NAFC’s main Facebook page, the Aboriginal Youth Council (AYC) and New Journeys Facebook pages to find out how they can paint their profiles orange in support and recognition of those who have been impacted by the legacy of Residential Schools. The campaign also invites individuals to share their ideas about and commitments to Reconciliation by using the following common hashtags: #EveryChildMatters, #OrangeShirtDay and #IWearOrangeBecause. Individuals and organizations are also encouraged to visit the above Facebook pages, NAFC.ca, or Newjourneys.ca to find out other ways in which they can contribute to Reconciliation.

Upon the launch of the campaign, NAFC President Christopher Sheppard stated, “Residential Schools and their legacy continue to have a very real impact on our everyday lives and taking the time to wear orange on September 30th acts as a reminder that Canada is still on a healing journey and we are all a part of that journey. Wearing an orange shirt shows honour and respect towards our residential school survivors and their families.” Friendship Centres have been a beacon for Reconciliation for over 50 years as we have brought people together to build thriving and inclusive urban communities where Indigenous people regardless of status are welcome and safe. When asked to reflect on the campaign Executive Director Erin Corston stated, “we all bear the responsibility to participate in Reconciliation and this small act of choosing to wear an orange shirt on September 30th will be a reminder for ourselves and communicate to those around us that “Every Child Matters.” We know that the impact of Residential Schools has had a dramatic effect on the lives of Indigenous people across Canada. She went on to say, “as survivors have had the courage to share their stories we now have the challenge, where we can choose to take a healing and reconciliatory path into the future. The timing of this day is significant as it is when children were annually taken to residential schools. Please join your colleagues, your local Friendship Centres and communities in wearing orange and opening conversations about the legacy of Residential Schools and our collective opportunity for Reconciliation.”

National Association of Friendship Centres
The National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC) is a network of 125 Friendship Centres and Provincial and Territorial Associations (PTAs) from coast-to-coast-to-coast. Friendship Centres are Canada’s most significant off-reserve Indigenous service delivery infrastructure and are the primary providers of culturally enhanced programs and services to urban Indigenous residents. For over half-a- century, Friendship Centres have been facilitating the transition of Indigenous people from rural, remote and reserve life to an urban environment. For many Indigenous people, Friendship Centres are the first point of contact to obtain referrals to cultural based socio-economic programs and services.

-30-

Media Contact:

Marylou Mintram, Communications Officer
Email: mmintram@nafc.ca
Tel: 613-563-4844 ext. 330

Recent Posts

Ongoing Initiatives

L’ANCA lance une campagne dans les médias sociaux toute colorée en orange

L’ANCA lance une campagne dans les médias sociaux toute colorée en orange, en guise de sensibilisation pour la Journée du gilet orange, le 30 septembre 2017.

  « Une part essentielle de la marche vers la réconciliation, c’est de comprendre que nous avons tous la responsabilité d’y participer. »
– Christopher Sheppard, président

[OTTAWA, 26 septembre 2017] — L’Association nationale des centres d’amitié (ANCA) est heureuse d’annoncer le lancement d’une campagne dans les médias sociaux en reconnaissance de la Journée du gilet orange qui aura lieu le 30 septembre 2017. La Journée du gilet orange est un évènement annuel qui ouvre la porte à une conversation globale concernant tous les aspects des pensionnats indiens. Il s’agit d’une opportunité pour susciter des discussions significatives au sujet des effets des pensionnats indiens et de l’héritage légué par ceux-ci. C’est une discussion à laquelle tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes peuvent prendre part pour créer des ponts entre eux pour la réconciliation. C’est une journée pour réaffirmer aux survivants ainsi qu’à tous ceux touchés par les pensionnats indiens, qu’ils sont importants et que leurs expériences sont accueillies de façon respectueuse. « Chaque enfant compte », même s’il est aujourd’hui adulte.

Les individus et organismes sont invités à visiter la page Facebook de l’ANCA, ainsi que celles du Conseil des jeunes autochtones (CJA) et de Nouveaux débuts, pour savoir comment colorier leurs profils en orange, afin de soutenir et reconnaître ceux qui ont été affectés par l’héritage des pensionnats indiens. La campagne invite aussi les gens à partager leurs idées et leurs engagements en lien avec la Réconciliation, en utilisant les mots-clics suivants : #EveryChildMatters, #OrangeShirtDay and #IWearOrangeBecause. Les individus et organismes sont aussi encouragés à visiter les pages Facebook susmentionnées, aussi bien que NAFC.ca/fr ou newjourneys.ca/fr/, pour d’autres moyens de contribution à la Réconciliation.

Au lancement de la campagne, le président de l’ANCA, Christopher Sheppard, a affirmé, « Les pensionnats indiens et leur héritage continuent d’avoir un réel impact dans nos vies de tous les jours. De prendre le temps de porter quelque chose d’orange le 30 septembre se veut un rappel que le Canada est toujours sur le chemin de la guérison et que nous sommes tous sur ce même chemin. De porter un gilet orange démontre honneur et respect envers les survivants des pensionnats indiens, ainsi que leurs familles. » Les Centres d’amitié autochtones ont été un phare pour la Réconciliation depuis plus de 50 ans pour rassembler les gens, bâtissant ainsi des communautés urbaines inclusives et dynamiques, où les Autochtones, peu importe leur statut, étaient accueillis et se trouvaient en sécurité. La directrice générale, Erin Corston, exprime ses réflexions à propos de cette campagne : « Nous avons tous la responsabilité de participer à la Réconciliation et ce petit geste de choisir de porter un gilet orange le 30 septembre sera un rappel pour nous et communiquera autour de nous que « Chaque enfant compte ». Nous savons que l’impact des pensionnats indiens a eu des résultats dramatiques dans les vies des peuples autochtones partout au Canada. » Elle conclut en disant : « Tout comme les survivants qui ont eu le courage de partager leurs histoires, nous nous retrouvons maintenant devant le défi où nous pouvons choisir la voie de la guérison et de la réconciliation vers l’avenir. La date choisie est significative puisque c’était alors que les enfants étaient amenés aux pensionnats indiens annuellement. Joignez-vous à vos collègues, vos Centres d’amitié locaux et vos communautés en portant un gilet orange et en suscitant des dicussions au sujet de l’héritage laissé par les pensionnats indiens et cette opportunité collective vers la Réconciliation. »

Association nationale des centres d’amitié

L’Association nationale des centres d’amitié est un réseau de 125 Centres d’amitié et de sept Associations provinciales/territoriales déployé d’un océan à l’autre. Les Centres d’amitié représentent l’infrastructure de prestation de services aux Autochtones hors réserve la plus importante au Canada. Ils sont les principaux fournisseurs de programmes et de services adaptés sur le plan culturel pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain. Depuis plus d’un demi-siècle, les Centres d’amitié facilitent la transition des Autochtones provenant des régions rurales, éloignées et des réserves jusqu’en milieu urbain. Pour bon nombre d’Autochtones, les Centres d’amitié sont le premier point de contact pour être aiguillés vers des programmes et des services socio-économiques axés sur la culture.

-30-

Marylou Mintram, Agente de communications
Courriel :   mmintram@nafc.ca
Tél : (613) 563-4844 ext. 330

                                     

Recent Posts

Initiatives en Cours