NAFC Congratulates the 2017 Governor General Award Recipients

[June 19, 2017 – Ottawa] The National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC), on behalf of its Board of Directors and the entire Friendship Centre Movement would like to congratulate all those who have been honoured by the His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada in recognition of their outstanding Indigenous leadership. Each of the honourees exemplifies the strength and resilience of Indigenous peoples across Canada. The NAFC is particularly pleased that five of these honourees are committed and passionate Indigenous women who in addition to working tirelessly to advocate on behalf of Indigenous people serve or have served as leaders and change makers within the Friendship Centre Movement.

Sylvia B. Maracle, O.C. a social activist and Executive Director of the Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres has been appointed as Officer of the Order of Canada;

Mary Richard, O.M. M.S.M. a longtime advocate and former Senator of the NAFC has been posthumously awarded the Meritorious Service Medal (civil division) which was accepted by her loving granddaughter Ms. Ashley Richard;

Pam Glode-Desrochers, Executive Director of the Mi’kmaw Native Friendship Centre in Halifax has been awarded the Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers;

Anita Campbell, former Executive Director of the Ma-Mow-We-Tak Friendship Centre in Thompson, Manitoba has been awarded the Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers; and
Odelle Pike, President of the Bay St. George Cultural Circle, one of the Friendship Centre Movement’s newest Centres located in Newfoundland has been awarded the Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers.

Upon hearing of the honours, NAFC President Chris Sheppard stated, “women have always held positions of leadership within Indigenous communities and that is a value that has been reflected across the Friendship Centre Movement both in the past and today.” Sheppard went on to say, “I am proud that our women leaders are being recognized in this way as such honours have the potential to pave the way and inspire the next generation of urban Indigenous women leaders in Canada.”

Recipients were honoured earlier today at a ceremony hosted at Rideau Hall by the His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada. The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada, was also in attendance, along with other dignitaries and special guests.

-30-

Media Contact:
Erin Corston, Executive Director
Email: ecortson@nafc.ca
Telephone: 613-563-4844

PDF: 2017-06-19 PR reGGAwardRecipients[1]

Recent Posts

Ongoing Initiatives

L’ANCA félicite les récipiendaires des distinctions honorifiques du gouverneur général

[Ottawa, le 19 juin 2017 – Ottawa] Au nom de son conseil d’administration et du Mouvement des Centres d’amitié, l’Association nationale des centres d’amitié (ANCA) aimerait féliciter tous les récipiendaires qui ont été honorées par Son Excellence le très honorable David Johnston, le gouverneur général du Canada, en reconnaissance de leur leadership autochtone exceptionnel. Chaque récipiendaire honoré illustre la force et la résilience des peuples autochtones de partout au Canada. L’ANCA est particulièrement heureuse que cinq de ces récipiendaires soient des femmes autochtones engagées et passionnées qui travaillent sans relâche à la défense des peuples autochtones et qui sont, ou ont été, des leaders et des actrices du changement au sein du Mouvement des Centres d’amitié autochtones.

Sylvia B. Maracle, OC, militante sociale et directrice générale de la Fédération des Centres d’amitié autochtones de l’Ontario, a été nommée Officier de l’Ordre du Canada.

Mary Richard, OM, MSM, militante de longue date et ancienne sénatrice de l’ANCA, récipiendaire de la Médaille du service méritoire (division civile) à titre posthume, reçue par sa tendre petite-fille, madame Ashley Richard.

Pam Glode-Desrochers, directrice générale du Mi’kmaw Native Friendship Centre d’Halifax, a reçu la Médaille du souverain pour les bénévoles.

Anita Campbell, ancienne directrice du Ma-Mow-We-Tak Friendship Centre de Thompson au Manitoba, a reçu la Médaille du souverain pour les bénévoles.

Odelle Pike, présidente du Bay St. George Cultural Circle de l’un des nouveaux Centres d’amitié autochtones situés à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, a reçu la Médaille du souverain pour les bénévoles.

Lorsqu’il a été informé de ces nominations, le président de l’ANCA, Chris Sheppard, a déclaré : « Les femmes ont toujours occupé des postes de leadership dans les collectivités autochtones et cette valeur se reflète dans le Mouvement des Centres d’amitié par le passé et encore, aujourd’hui. » Monsieur Sheppard ajoute : « Je suis fier que nos femmes leaders soient reconnues en ce sens puisque ces nominations permettent d’ouvrir la voie à la prochaine génération de femmes autochtones leaders vivant en milieu urbain au Canada. »

Les récipiendaires ont été honorés plus tôt aujourd’hui lors d’une cérémonie à Rideau Hall animée par son Excellence le très honorable David Johnston, le gouverneur général du Canada. Le très honorable Justin Trudeau, premier ministre du Canada, ainsi que d’autres dignitaires et invités spéciaux, étaient également présents à la cérémonie.

– 30 –

Contact:
Erin Corston, directrice générale Courriel : ecorston@nafc.ca

PDF: 2017-06-19 PR reGGAwardRecipients _FRE

Recent Posts

Initiatives en Cours