NAFC Congratulates New Ministers of Indigenous Services and Indigenous-Crown Relations

[Ottawa, ON August 30, 2017] On behalf of its Board of Directors, the National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC) would like to extend its sincere congratulations to Ministers Jane Philpott and Carolyn Bennett who were appointed to two new Ministerial positions on August 28, 2017. Minister Bennett will transition from her role as Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs to her new role as Minister of Indigenous-Crown Relations while Minister Philpott will transition from her current role as Minister of Health to her new role as Minister of Indigenous Services.

While little information is available about how this change will impact the Friendship Centre Movement, NAFC President Christopher Sheppard expressed optimism upon hearing the news. “The shift in this government’s approach is a potential game changer when it comes to the way that programs and services are delivered to Indigenous people across Canada including those who are served by one of more than 118 Friendship Centres across Canada.” He went on to say that, “in the past, Friendship Centres have had limited direct access to Federal funding that supports programs and services for Indigenous people, particularly when it has come to health-related programs and services. I am hopeful that in her new role, Minister Philpott will be provided with an expanded mandate that will prioritize health specific programs and services including the much-needed supports for mental wellness programs for our youth.”

More than 780,000 or 56% of Indigenous people currently live in one of Canada’s cities. With this number expected to continue to rise exponentially in the coming years, it will be imperative that the Federal Government consider the growing service needs of this population. Moreover, as the urban Indigenous population is among the youngest and fastest growing population in Canada, there is a need for increased support for urban Indigenous youth to ensure that they have the opportunities and support to achieve their life goals. “We often say that our youth are our future and we owe it to them to ensure that they have the support they need to secure bright futures. This shift represents an opportunity to ensure a service continuum that will nurture their roles as the leaders of not only tomorrow but of today” said President Sheppard.

While the NAFC is optimistic about the change, it has also expressed concerns that the isolation of programs and services may further reduce its capacity to advocate nationally on behalf of Friendship Centres and Provincial Territorial Associations. “In addition to our long history of successfully administering program funds on behalf of the Federal Government that support the Centres’ operations, we also work to inform policies that impact urban Indigenous people. This requires human resource capacity to develop partnerships, and do research and policy related work, as our part of our overall approach to achieving program and service delivery excellence,” stated NAFC Executive Director Erin Corston. Corston went on to say that, “we are hopeful that we will have the opportunity to meet with Minister Philpott in the coming weeks so that we can begin the process of developing a relationship and support for a joint commitment to work towards ensuring the health and prosperity of urban Indigenous people for generations to come.”

The National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC) is a network of 125 Friendship Centres and Provincial and Territorial Associations (PTAs) from coast-to-coast-to-coast. Friendship Centres are Canada’s most significant off-reserve Indigenous service delivery infrastructure and are the primary providers of culturally enhanced programs and services to urban Indigenous residents. For over half-a- century, Friendship Centres have been facilitating the transition of Indigenous people from rural, remote and reserve life to an urban environment. For many Indigenous people, Friendship Centres are the first point of contact to obtain referrals to cultural based socio-economic programs and services.

As the national body of the Friendship Centre Movement, the NAFC is democratically governed, status blind and accountable to its membership.

-30-

Media Contact:

Erin Corston, Executive Director

Email: ecorston@nafc.ca

Telephone: 613-563-4844

Recent Posts

Ongoing Initiatives

L’ANCA félicite la nouvelle ministre des Services aux Autochtones et la nouvelle ministre des Relations-Couronne Autochtone et des Affaires du Nord

[Ottawa (Ontario), le 30 août 2017] Au nom de son conseil d’administration, l’Association nationale des centres d’amitié (ANCA) désire présenter ses plus sincères félicitations à mesdames Jane Philpott et Carolyn Bennett nommées à deux nouveaux ministères le 28 août dernier. Jusqu’ici ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord, Carolyn Bennett occupera désormais les fonctions de ministre des Relations Couronne-Autochtones et des Affaires du Nord, et Jane Philpott, jusqu’ici ministre de la Santé, occupera les fonctions de ministre des Services aux Autochtones.

On en connaît peu sur l’effet que ce remaniement ministériel aura le Mouvement des Centres d’amitié, mais le président de l’ANCA, Christopher Sheppard, a exprimé son optimisme en apprenant la nouvelle. Selon lui, « le changement d’approche de l’actuel gouvernement amorce probablement un virage important dans la manière dont les programmes et services seront offerts aux Autochtones du Canada, y compris ceux servis par plus de 118 Centres d’amitié répartis dans le pays ». Monsieur Sheppard a ajouté que dans le passé, les Centres d’amitié avaient eu un accès limité aux fonds offerts par le gouvernement fédéral pour la mise en œuvre de programmes et de services aux Autochtones, notamment à l’accès aux fonds accordés aux programmes et services liés à la santé. Il a poursuivi en affirmant qu’il avait bon espoir que la ministre Philpott aura un mandat élargi lui permettant d’accorder la priorité aux programmes et services liés à la santé, y compris au soutien essentiel des programmes de bien-être mental offerts aux jeunes.

Plus de 780 000 personnes, soit 56 % de la population autochtone, vivent dans une ville canadienne. Comme on prévoit que ce nombre continuera d’augmenter au cours des prochaines années, il faudra absolument que le gouvernement fédéral examine les besoins accrus en matière de services de cette population. Par ailleurs, les Autochtones font partie de la population la plus jeune et dont la croissance est la plus accélérée au Canada. Il importe donc d’accroître le soutien aux jeunes Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain pour leur permettre d’avoir les chances et l’aide dont ils ont besoin pour atteindre leurs buts dans la vie. « On dit souvent que les jeunes sont notre avenir et qu’on doit s’assurer qu’ils obtiennent toute l’aide nécessaire pour que leur avenir soit prometteur. Ce virage est l’occasion d’assurer un continuum de services qui alimentera leurs rôles de leaders, non seulement aujourd’hui mais aussi demain », a affirmé le président Sheppard.

L’ANCA est optimiste à l’égard de ce remaniement, mais elle craint que le cantonnement des programmes et des services réduise encore davantage sa capacité de défendre les intérêts des Autochtones à l’échelle nationale au nom des Centres d’amitié et des associations provinciales et territoriales. « En plus d’administrer depuis longtemps les fonds accordés par le gouvernement fédéral pour soutenir les activités des Centres d’amitié, nous nous occupons aussi d’informer le public des politiques qui se répercutent sur les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain. Cela nécessite des ressources humaines pour créer des partenariats et développer des politiques en matière de travail, dans le cadre de notre approche globale pour atteindre l’excellence dans la prestation des programmes et services », a expliqué la directrice générale de l’ANCA, Erin Corston. Celle-ci a poursuivi en affirmant que « nous avons bon espoir de rencontrer la ministre Philpott au cours des prochaines semaines pour qu’un engagement mutuel soit pris pour assurer la santé et la prospérité des Autochtones en milieu urbain pour les générations à venir. »

L’Association nationale des centres d’amitié est un réseau de 125 Centres d’amitié et associations provinciales et territoriales répartis d’un bout à l’autre du Canada. Depuis plus d’un demi-siècle, les Centres d’amitié viennent en aide aux Autochtones provenant de régions rurales éloignées et des réserves qui s’installent en milieu urbain. Pour de nombreux Autochtones, les Centres d’amitié constituent le premier point de contact qui les aiguillent vers des programmes et des services socio- économiques axés sur la culture.

En tant qu’organe de direction nationale du Mouvement des Centres d’amitié, l’ANCA est gérée de façon démocratique et apolitique, et est responsable devant le gouvernement fédéral et la collectivité autochtone vivant en milieu urbain.

-30-

Personne-ressource pour les médias :

Erin Corston, directrice générale
Courriel : ecorston@nafc.ca

Téléphone : 613 563-4844

Recent Posts

Initiatives en Cours