NAFC appoints new Executive Director

The National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC) Board of Directors are pleased to announce the appointment of Erin Corston as the organization’s new Executive Director.  Erin brings more than fifteen years of experience working towards the betterment of Indigenous people and communities in Canada.

Born and raised in Treaty 9 Territory, Erin is an active member the Chapleau Cree First Nation (CCFN) located in Northeastern Ontario. She has dedicated her professional career to Indigenous specific issues and is a passionate advocate for Indigenous women’s equality rights and ending violence against women and children.

Erin has provided strategic leadership for a variety of Indigenous organizations including the Canadian Indigenous Nurses Association, the Ontario Native Women’s Association, the Native Women’s Association of Canada and the Assembly of First Nations.

The Board of Directors made the appointment after a national search and selection process.

Under Erin’s leadership, the NAFC will continue to support the Friendship Centre Movement across the country and advance strategic initiatives that benefit Canada’s urban Indigenous people.

Erin assumes her position as Executive Director on October 11, 2016.

About the National Association of Friendship Centres

The National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC) is a network of 118 Friendship Centres and seven Provincial and Territorial Associations (PTAs) from coast-to-coast-to-coast. For over 50 years, Friendship Centres have been the primary providers of culturally enhanced programs and services to urban Indigenous people living in urban areas.

-30-

Media Contact:

Alysha A. Cunningham
Communications & Social Media Officer
National Association of Friendship Centres
613-563-4844

Recent Posts

Ongoing Initiatives

L’ANCA nomme une nouvelle directrice exécutive

Le conseil d’administration de l’Association nationale des Centres d’amitié (ANCA) est ravi d’annoncer la nomination d’Erin Corston en tant que nouvelle directrice exécutive de l’organisation. Erin cumule plus de quinze années d’expérience au cours desquelles elle s’est consacrée à l’amélioration de la qualité de vie des Autochtones et des collectivités au Canada.

Erin est né et a grandi sur le territoire visé par le Traité no 9. Elle est membre active de la Première Nation des Cris de Chapleau située dans le nord de l’Ontario. Elle a consacré sa carrière professionnelle aux questions d’intérêt pour les Autochtones et se passionne pour la défense des droits à l’égalité des femmes autochtones et la lutte contre la violence faite aux femmes et aux enfants.

Erin a assuré une direction stratégique pour de nombreuses organisations autochtones, notamment la Canadian Indigenous Nurses Association, l’Association des femmes autochtones de l’Ontario, l’Association des femmes autochtones du Canada et l’Assemblée des Premières Nations.

Le conseil d’administration a procédé à la nomination au terme d’un processus de recherche et de sélection déployé à l’échelle nationale.

Sous la direction d’Erin, l’ANCA continuera d’appuyer le Mouvement des centres d’amitié partout au pays et de promouvoir les initiatives stratégiques qui entraînent des retombées positives pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain au Canada.

Erin amorcera ses fonctions en qualité de directrice exécutive le 11 octobre 2016.

À propos de l’Association nationale des Centres d’amitié

L’Association nationale des Centres d’amitié est un réseau de 118 Centres d’amitié et de 7 Associations provinciales/territoriales (APT) disséminés d’un océan à l’autre. Depuis plus de 50 ans, les Centres d’amitié sont les principaux fournisseurs de programmes et de services, adaptés sur le plan culturel, destinés aux Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain.

-30-

 Personne-ressource pour les médias

Alysha A. Cunningham
Agente des communications et des médias sociaux
Association nationale des Centres d’amitié
613-563-4844

Recent Posts

Initiatives en Cours