Friendship Centre Movement Mourns the Loss of Jaynane Burning-Fields, Longtime Leader, Champion and Friend

[Ottawa, ON November 28, 2017] It is with great sadness and heavy hearts that the Board of Directors of the National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC) offers their heartfelt sympathies and condolences to family, clan, friends and colleagues of Jaynane Burning-Fields who began her journey to the spirit world on November 26, 2017. “Not only has the Friendship Centre Movement lost a passionate and committed leader and champion, it has also lost a loving, kind and gentle friend,” stated NAFC Treasurer Chester Langille.

Jaynane began her illustrious career with the Movement more than 30 years ago as an invaluable employee with the Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres (OFIFC) and more recently as the Executive Director of the Niagara Regional Friendship Centre in Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario. She also served the Movement in various other capacities including as a member of OFIFC’s Executive Committee and as the Ontario representative on NAFC’s Board of Directors. “Her contributions over the years have helped to strengthen and shape the Movement and she will be sadly missed by all those who knew her,” stated NAFC President Christopher Sheppard.

For more information or to leave condolences please visit www.rhbanderson.com.

The National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC) is a network of 125 Friendship Centres and Provincial and Territorial Associations (PTAs) from coast-to-coast-to-coast. Friendship Centres are Canada’s most significant off-reserve Indigenous service delivery infrastructure and are the primary providers of culturally enhanced programs and services to urban Indigenous residents. For over half-a-century, Friendship Centres have been facilitating the transition of Indigenous people from rural, remote and reserve life to an urban environment. For many Indigenous people, Friendship Centres are the first point of contact to obtain referrals to cultural based socio-economic programs and services.

-30-

Media Contact:
Marylou Mintram, Communications Officer
Email: mmintram@nafc.ca
Telephone: 613-563-4844

Recent Posts

Ongoing Initiatives

Le Mouvement des Centres d’amitié pleure le départ de Jaynane Burning-Fields, leader de longue date, championne et amie

[Ottawa, ON 28 novembre 2017] C’est avec une grande tristesse et un serrement au cœur que le conseil d’administration de l’Association nationale des centres d’amitié autochtones (ANCA) offre ses plus sincères sympathies et condoléances à la famille, au clan, aux amis et aux collègues de Jaynane Burning-Fields, qui a entrepris son voyage au monde des esprits le 26 novembre 2017. « Non seulement le Mouvement des centres d’amitié a perdu une leader et une championne passionnée et engagée; il a aussi perdu une amie aimante et gentille », a affirmé Chester Langille, trésorier de l’ANCA.

Jaynane a débuté sa brillante carrière avec le Mouvement il y a plus de 30 ans, en tant qu’employée inestimable à l’Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres (OFIFC), et plus récemment comme directrice exécutive du Niagara Regional Friendship Centre à Niagara-on-the-Lake en Ontario. Elle a aussi rendu service au Mouvement à plusieurs autres niveaux, incluant comme membre du comité exécutif de l’OFIFC et représentante de l’Ontario au Conseil d’administration de l’ANCA. « Ses contributions au fil des années ont contribué à renforcer et à définir le Mouvement, et elle sera regrettée par tous ceux qui la connaissaient », a énoncé Christopher Sheppard, le président de l’ANCA.

Pour davantage d’information ou pour exprimer vos condoléances, veuillez visiter la page
www.rhbanderson.com.

L’Association nationale des Centres d’amitié (ANCA) est un réseau de 125 Centres d’amitié et Associations provinciales/territoriales (APT) déployé d’un océan à l’autre. Les Centres d’amitié représentent l’infrastructure de prestation de services aux Autochtones hors réserve la plus importante au Canada. Ils sont les principaux fournisseurs de programmes et de services adaptés sur le plan culturel pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain. Depuis plus d’un demi-siècle, les Centres d’amitié facilitent la transition des Autochtones provenant des régions rurales, éloignées et des réserves jusqu’en milieu urbain. Pour bon nombre d’Autochtones, les Centres d’amitié sont le premier point de contact pour être aiguillés vers des programmes et des services socio-économiques axés sur la culture.

Contact pour les médias :
Marylou Mintram, agente des communications
Courriel : mmintram@nafc.ca
Téléphone : 613-563-4844

Recent Posts

Initiatives en Cours