Building and Supporting Safe and Healthy Urban Indigenous Communities

Building and Supporting Safe and Healthy Urban Indigenous Communities

National Association of Friendship Centre’s Policy Position Statement on Addressing Violence Against Indigenous Women and Girls.

This policy was developed using NAFCs policy development process and approved by the Board of Directors in July 2017.

Policy Position

The National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC) acknowledges the ongoing epidemic of violence against Indigenous women and girls and denounces such violence in all its forms.  The NAFC believes that violence against Indigenous women and girls is not just a women’s issue, rather it is a societal issue and as such responding to it requires a concerted and conscious effort on behalf of all Canadians including men and boys.

Additionally, it believes that eliminating violence requires the development of safe and healthy communities through the provision of culturally grounded and trauma informed programs and services that address both the immediate safety needs of women and girls but also the root causes of violence. These include but are not limited to programs related to, emergency support and crisis intervention, safe and affordable short-term and long-term sustainable housing, food security, justice, health and wellbeing, participation in the economy, education and lifelong learning, cultural development including the restoration of Indigenous languages, and programs aimed at supporting reconciliation by addressing issues such as colonialism, racism, and systemic discrimination.

Finally, the NAFC believes that the elimination of violence against Indigenous women and girls can only be achieved through the full implementation of the United Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP) and through the full and collaborative response to the 94 Calls to Action tabled by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) in June 2015.

Read the complete Policy Position Statement on Addressing Violence against Indigenous Women and Girls (pdf)

October 4, 2017 Press Release (pdf)

Policy Position Backgrounder (pdf)

Eliminate violence against Indigenous women and girls:  Invitation to Others (pdf)

Together for Equality for Aboriginal Women in Cities
Position paper by the Regroupement des centres d’amitié autochtones du Québec
https://www.rcaaq.info/images/Mémoire_RCAAQ_2015_Egalité_SCF_Anglais.pdf

Women’s Narratives from the St. John’s Native Friendship Centre:
Using Digital Storytelling to Inform Community-based Healing and Violence Prevention Programs
http://uakn.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/UAKN-SJNFC-Final-report-Ashley-Hong-MUN-v.6-3.pdf

Culture of Fearfulness? Connecting Patterns of Vulnerability and Resilience in Young Urban Aboriginal Women’s Narratives in Kjipuktuk (Halifax)
http://uakn.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/UAKN-Atlantic-Final-Paper_Culture-of-Fearfulness_-Connecting-Patterns-of-Vulnerability-and-Resilience-in-Young-Urban-Aboriginal-Womens-Narratives-in-Kjipuktuk_May2016-.pdf

 

Recent Posts

Ongoing Initiatives

Bâtir et appuyer des communautés autochtones urbaines sûres et en santé

Bâtir et appuyer des communautés autochtones urbaines
sûres et en santé

Énoncé de principe sur la violence envers les femmes et les filles autochtones de l’Association nationale des centres d’amitié

 

Veuillez trouver ci-joint un communiqué de presse, des fichiers à partager et la position de principe. Cette position a été rédigée en conformité avec le processus d’élaboration des politiques de l’ANCA et approuvée par le conseil d’administration en juillet 2017.

Énoncé de principe

 

L’Association nationale des centres d’amitié (ANCA) constate et dénonce l’épidémie actuelle de violence faite envers les femmes et les filles autochtones. Pour l’ANCA, la violence envers les femmes et les filles autochtones n’est pas un enjeu strictement féminin : il s’agit d’un problème de société et, par conséquent, tous les Canadiens, y compris les hommes et les garçons, doivent faire des efforts concertés et conscients pour mettre fin à cette violence, dans toutes ses formes.

De plus, l’ANCA croit que l’élimination de la violence passe par la sécurité et la santé des communautés, ce que favorisent les programmes et les services culturellement respectueux et sensibilisés aux traumatismes conçus pour répondre aux besoins de sécurité immédiats des femmes et des filles, mais aussi pour éradiquer les causes profondes de la violence. Mentionnons, par exemple, les programmes axés sur l’aide en cas d’urgence et l’intervention de crise, le logement durable, sécuritaire et abordable à court et à long terme, la sécurité alimentaire, la justice, la santé et le mieux-être, la participation à l’économie, l’éducation et la formation continue, le développement culturel (notamment par la revitalisation des langues autochtones), ainsi que les programmes visant à encourager la réconciliation en s’attaquant aux problèmes du colonialisme, du racisme et de la discrimination systémique.

Enfin, l’ANCA croit que l’élimination de la violence envers les femmes et les files autochtones n’est possible que si l’on applique à la lettre la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones, et que si l’on met en œuvre pleinement et dans un esprit de collaboration les 94 appels à l’action déposés par la Commission de vérité et réconciliation (CVR) en juin 2015.

…lire la suite :  Bâtir et appuyer des communautés autochtones urbaines sûres et en santé (en pdf)
Communiqué de presse, le 4 octobre, 2017 (pdf)
Enonce de principe : Contexte (pdf)
Bâtir et appuyer des communautés autochtones urbaines sûres et en santé : Invitation générale (pdf)

 

 

Recent Posts

Initiatives en Cours