Advancing Indigenous Innovation in Canada: Funding for Social Innovation Projects Announced

EDMONTON, November 9, 2016 – Creating the first Indigenous podcast network, expanding a local food economy in Northern Manitoba, an Indigenous Family Reunification Centre to reduce the number of children in care, and addressing the need for lower-cost food in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan: these are just some of 10 ideas that are receiving funding and coaching through the first cohort of projects supported by the Indigenous Innovation Demonstration Fund, announced today.

The National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC), Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) and the J.W. McConnell Family Foundation (McConnell), announced the recipients of the Indigenous Innovation Demonstration Fund (IIDF) at the 2016 Indigenous Innovation Summit earlier today. The recipients include:

  • Makoons Media Group
  • Sagitawa Friendship Centre
  • Cross Lake First Nation
  • Wabano Centre for Aboriginal Health
  • Sandy Saulteaux Spiritual Centre
  • Indian and Metis Friendship Centre of Prince Albert
  • Wachiay Friendship Centre Society
  • Skwachàys Lodge

The Indigenous Innovation Demonstration Fund is a direct outcome of the first Indigenous Innovation Summit, held last year in Winnipeg. Since it was launched in July of this year, the IIDF received over 70 expressions of interest from across Canada, highlighting the incredible work Indigenous communities are doing and their significant need for support. Ideas ranged from food security solutions, reimagination of the child welfare system, Indigenous hotel and food enterprises and using modern technology to spread traditional Indigenous teachings.

“There are many excellent ideas to improve the quality of life for Indigenous people in Canada that cannot be actualized due to limited funding,” said Erin Corston, NAFC Executive Director. “With IIDF we are able to provide the much needed capacity to make some of those innovations a reality. Congratulations to the successful applicants.”

Distributed in two streams, social innovators will receive funds and support for the advancement of their projects. ‘Coaching Stream’ recipients will benefit from between $10,000 and $20,000 for the development of Indigenous social innovation or enterprise projects. The ‘Implementation Stream’ awards up to $100,000 for the scaling of successful projects in order to share knowledge and support other Indigenous social innovation projects.

“We are so excited to finally provide our flagship digital media property, Indian & Cowboy, with the resources to strengthen its base and to build on its steady foundation of being the world’s only listener-supported Indigenous Podcast Network,” said Ryan McMahon of Makoons Media Group. “We are grateful for the grant and can’t thank the funding sponsors and partners enough for the support to tell Indigenous stories to a worldwide audience.”

“One of the key findings from the 2015 Indigenous Innovation Summit was the need for flexible capital and capacity supports to help advance the innovative ideas that were presented throughout the Summit,” said Stephen Huddart, President of the J.W. McConnell Family Foundation. “With the projects announced today, you can see Indigenous innovation is flourishing from coast to coast to coast. It’s inspiring, and should compel broad interest from funders and impact investors.”

For more information on the Indigenous Innovation Demonstration Fund, visit www.nafc.ca/en/iidf

About the National Association of Friendship Centres

The National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC) is a network of 118 Friendship Centres and seven Provincial and Territorial Associations (PTAs) from coast-to-coast-to-coast. For over 50 years, Friendship Centres have been the primary providers of culturally enhanced programs and services to urban Indigenous people living in urban areas.

About the J.W. McConnell Family Foundation

Established in 1937, the J.W. McConnell Family Foundation engages Canadians in building a more innovative, inclusive, sustainable, and resilient society. The Foundation’s purpose is to enhance Canada’s ability to address complex social, environmental and economic challenges. From an endowment of approximately $600 million, the Foundation provides over $20 million annually in charitable disbursements. Its policy objective is to direct 10% of the endowment to impact investments (currently at 5%).  The Foundation helped establish and works closely with Canada’s core social innovation and social finance infrastructure through such initiatives as the Social Innovation Generation and the MaRS Centre for Impact Investing (Toronto).

– 30-

Contact:
Pamela Ouart-McNabb
Director of Research and Special Projects
National Association of Friendship Centres
613-563-4844

Ongoing Initiatives

Faire avancer l’innovation autochtone au Canada : Annonce de financement pour les projets d’innovation sociale

EDMONTON, 9 novembre 2016 – Créer le premier réseau de baladodiffusion autochtone, élargir l’économie locale de l’alimentation dans le nord du Manitoba, mettre en place un centre de réunification de la famille autochtone pour réduire le nombre d’enfants placés et offrir des aliments à coût moindre à Prince Albert (Saskatchewan) – voilà quelques-unes des 10 idées qui reçoivent du financement et de l’accompagnement dans le cadre de la première cohorte de projets soutenus par le Fonds de démonstration de l’innovation autochtone, annoncés aujourd’hui.

L’Association nationale des Centres d’amitié (ANCA), Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) et la Fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell ont annoncé les bénéficiaires du Fonds de démonstration de l’innovation autochtone (FDIA), lors du Sommet pour l’innovation autochtone 2016 plus tôt aujourd’hui. Les bénéficiaires comprennent les suivants :

  • Makoons Media Group
  • Sagitawa Friendship Centre
  • Cross Lake First Nation
  • Wabano Centre for Aboriginal Health
  • Sandy Saulteaux Spiritual Centre
  • Indian and Metis Friendship Centre of Prince Albert
  • Wachiay Friendship Centre Society
  • Skwachàys Lodge

Le Fonds de démonstration de l’innovation autochtone est un résultat direct de la première édition du Sommet pour l’innovation autochtone qui s’est tenue l’année dernière à Winnipeg. Depuis sa mise en œuvre en juillet 2016, le FDIA a reçu plus de 70 lettres d’expression d’intérêt de partout au Canada mettant en relief le formidable travail accompli par les collectivités autochtones et leur besoin criant de soutien. Les idées étaient diversifiées : solutions pour la sécurité alimentaire, refonte du système de garde d’enfants, hôtel autochtone, entreprises alimentaires et utilisation de la technologie moderne pour diffuser les enseignements autochtones traditionnels.

« Il existe de nombreuses idées valables pour améliorer la qualité de vie des Autochtones au Canada qui ne peuvent être réalisées en raison du financement limité », explique Erin Corston, directrice exécutive de l’ANCA. « Grâce au FDIA, nous sommes capables de mettre en place la capacité requise pour concrétiser ces idées innovatrices. Félicitations aux demandeurs retenus. »

Distribués en deux volets, les innovateurs sociaux recevront du financement et du soutien pour faire avancer leurs projets. Les bénéficiaires du volet relatif à l’accompagnement recevront des 10 000 $ à 20 000 $ pour le développement de projets d’entreprise ou d’innovation sociale autochtone. Les bénéficiaires du volet relatif au soutien à la mise en œuvre recevront jusqu’à 100 000 $ pour élargir les projets retenus afin de partager les connaissances et d’appuyer d’autres projets d’innovation sociale autochtone.

Nous sommes tout à fait ravis de pouvoir enfin doter notre plateforme de média numérique vedette, Indian & Cowboy, des ressources nécessaires pour renforcer sa base et prendre appui sur sa fondation stable comme réseau de baladodiffusion autochtone chef de file mondiale unique », explique Ryan McMahon de Makoons Media Group. « Nous sommes reconnaissants d’avoir reçu cette subvention et nous ne remercierons jamais assez les promoteurs et partenaires de leur appui qui nous permet de raconter les histoires des Autochtones à un public mondial ».

« L’une des principales constatations du Sommet pour l’innovation autochtone 2015 était le besoin de se doter de capitaux flexibles et d’une capacité de soutien pour faire avancer les idées novatrices qui ont été présentées tout au long du Sommet », a renchéri Stephen Huddart, président de la Fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell. « Avec les projets annoncés aujourd’hui, vous pourrez voir que l’innovation autochtone fleurit d’un océan à l’autre. Elle est inspirante et elle devrait susciter l’intérêt des bailleurs de fonds et des investisseurs d’impact. »

Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur le Fond de démonstration de l’innovation autochtone, visitez le site :  www.nafc.ca/fr/iidf

À propos de l’Association nationale des Centres d’amitié

L’Association nationale des Centres d’amitié (ANCA) est un réseau de 118 Centres d’amitié et de sept Associations provinciales/territoriales (APT) déployé d’un océan à l’autre. Depuis plus de 50 ans, les Centres d’amitié sont les principaux fournisseurs de programmes et de services, adaptés sur le plan culturel, destinés aux Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain.

À propos de la fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell

Mise sur pied en 1937, la fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell engage les Canadiens à bâtir une société plus inclusive, plus viable, plus résiliente et plus novatrice. La raison d’être de la fondation est de renforcer la capacité du Canada d’aborder des enjeux complexes sur le plan social, économique et environnemental. D’une dotation d’environ 600 millions de dollars, la fondation débourse plus de 20 millions de dollars chaque année en dons de bienfaisance. Son objectif stratégique est de consacrer 10 % de la dotation aux investissements d’impact (elle y consacre actuellement 5 %). La fondation a aidé à créer l’infrastructure de base du Canada en matière d’innovation sociale et de finance sociale grâce à des initiatives, comme Génération de l’innovation sociale et le Centre for Impact Investing à Toronto.

– 30-

Personne ressource
Pamela Ouart-McNabb
Directrice de la recherche et des projets spéciaux
Association nationale des Centres d’amitié
613-563-4844

Recent Posts

Initiatives en Cours